Highlight of my week: In Rwanda, it is a tradition to begin and end the year in the presence of God.

Lake Gahawa in the Bugesera District of Rwanda flooded after heavy rains on Dec. 25, 2019. The photo was taken on Wed., Jan. 4, 2020. Corn, beans, mango and banana trees are still surrounded by standing water. It was reported that 12 people died on Dec. 25, it due to flooding and landslides. Houses affected by the floods or at risk for future landslides were demolished by the government in an attempt to prevent future deaths and injuries.

New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day are celebrated much differently in Rwanda than in the United States. Americans generally stay up all night partying waiting for the clock to strike 12 and continue partying and celebrating the changing of the year. Rwandans also stay up all night, but instead of spending the holiday at the bar, their night begins and ends at church. In Rwanda, it is a tradition to begin and end the year in the presence of God.

During New Years Eve, many churches host services starting at 8 p.m. and ending around midnight. People from any religion, any district and any country are welcome to be a visitor at the church and spend the night worshipping. I did not have the opportunity to visit church on New Year’s Eve, however, I spent much of the day at church on New Year’s Day and was surrounded by powerful prayers, a strong sermon (from what I could tell — it was in Kinyarwanda!) as well as dancing and singing from the choir and those in attendance. This was so special to me as this would have been the first New Year’s Eve I could have celebrated the American way. While I looked at social media of my friends and family celebrating, I was feeling a little FOMO, or fear of missing out. Despite the longing to be with friends and family, I was able to find that same sense of love and caring here through attending the church. I thought this was the most incredible way to celebrate the ending of 2019 and the beginning of 2020. This year has been difficult, but I am so grateful that Rwandans have accepted me as their visitor in their country and in their church. Their willingness to share such a special traditional celebration with me in the midst of trying to enjoy their own day of importance with their friends and family is the highlight of my week and is in the top five highlights of my time here in Rwanda.

A farmer’s tools rest against his home in Bugesera District in Rwanda. Subsistence farming is common for rural families in Rwanda to maintain their farmland and crops. The garden hoes pictured were used to till Irish potatoes and the machete was used to cut grass and remove an unwanted tree stump. The photo was taken on Saturday, Jan. 4, 2020.
A farmer takes a break from his daily chores for a lunch of beans and sorghum beer on Saturday, Jan. 4, 2020. The farmer grows the beans on his farm and received the sorghum beer as a gift from a neighbor.

--

--

Global Eyewitness
University of Nebraska Lincoln: Global Eyewitness Rwanda

Students in UNL’s Global Eyewitness one-of-a-kind multimedia journalism program traveled to Rwanda to report on issues of people in need.