Highlight of Week 2: Warming my heart and placing my privilege into perspective

Kids hang out in the tree pit of the skatepark on Dec. 31, 2019, in the SOS Children’s Village. With the heat of the sun, many kids sought refuge under the tree. Many kids came to the skatepark for its New Year’s Eve Skate Competition.

One of the highlights of my week here in Rwanda has been growing the connection I have with the kids involved in my story as well as my interpreter. Every day I revisit with children and they get more and more comfortable with my presence. I’ve been able to learn many of their names, and they know my name now.

A teen on a skateboard grabs onto a moto on Dec. 31, 2019, in Kigali, Rwanda. His friends and him were skating through their neighborhood before going to the skatepark. They meet up every day before going to the skatepark.

Some of the same kids even follow me around as I gather content because they are so interested in what I’m doing. Being a familiar face to them is comforting for me. I no longer feel like an intruder into their regular flow of life but part of it. I no longer stand out. With my interpreter, we have quickly been able to talk freely to one another and have gotten quite used to each other’s presence. Being with a local has helped me learn so many things about how to talk to people here and the culture in general.

A mother prepares lunch for her family on Jan. 4, 2020, in Kigali, Rwanda. She makes a dish from bananas and fish. As a single mother, she provides everything for all of her four children.

Another highlight has been our friend Patrick visiting with us multiple times this past week to share and sell us his art of baskets, earrings and more. He shared with us his story and background and how his biggest goal right now is to get a new mattress. We learned that he helps to support his family by selling his art because his mother usually grows cabbage but due to the usual amount of rain and climate change, she hasn’t been able to. He’s very good with saving his money for the future and hopes to study computers in college and eventually visit the United States for better opportunities.

Motos drive by on an intersection on Jan. 1, 2020, in Kigali, Rwanda. Motos are used to get from place to place and are able to weave through cars. The streets on New Year’s Day are not as crowded as usual.

On Patrick’s last day visiting us before he goes off to school, he gifted some of us his handmade bracelets. He hopes that we will wear it and when people ask about it, we will be able to pass on his story. The fact that even though Patrick is working hard and struggling to provide for his family yet was still able to gift us something of his own really warms my heart and places my privilege into perspective.

A man holds onto a street sign outside the Kigali Arena on Jan. 1, 2020. People were gathered outside waiting for the concert to start inside the arena. People could be seen taking selfies with friends or just standing around.

--

--

Global Eyewitness
University of Nebraska Lincoln: Global Eyewitness Rwanda

Students in UNL’s Global Eyewitness one-of-a-kind multimedia journalism program traveled to Rwanda to report on issues of people in need.