What I’ve Learned: “One of the most apparent differences between Rwanda and the United States is the lack of trash in the streets.”

Written by Brenda Maytorena Lara — Dec. 31, 2019

Muraho! This trip to Rwanda has been an eye-opening experience. The most valuable lesson that I have learned is that making the attempt to speak to someone in their own language goes a long way. In this time here, I have taken the time to learn a few key phrases to greet and communicate with people such as, “Muraho” (Hello), “Amakuru?” (How are you?), “Mwaramutse” (Good Morning) and “Murakoze” (Thank you). Rwandans tend to be very straight faced and at first this was intimidating. What I was quick to realize is that as soon as I built up the courage to wave and say, “Muraho!” their faces lit up with a smile immediately and gave an enthusiastic wave. A smile is universal.

Dinner at Khana Khazana

The first couple of days consisted of a lot of exploring and learning about the city. We had the opportunity to tour Kigali, a beautiful city full of life, color and trees. One of the most apparent differences between Rwanda and the United States is the lack of trash in the streets. I cannot stress enough that there was no trash on the roads, and the one piece of trash that I was able to spot was quickly picked up by a nearby citizen. The pride that Rwandans have for their city is inspiring. The tour took us through the different developments of the city. While it is apparent that Rwanda is a developing country, the advances are incredible, particularly in regard to the fight against climate change. We stopped at two memorials: the Belgian Peacekeepers Memorial and the Kigali Genocide Memorial.

It is difficult for me to put into words the emotions that I felt while I experienced these memorials. I have never experienced such strength, dedication and hope.

On December 26, we were able to go on a safari in Akagera, about three hours away from Kigali. I loved seeing the untouched landscapes and the wildness of the animals. Watching humans interact and react to mother nature was a reminder to me of universal humanity and curiosity.

--

--

Global Eyewitness
University of Nebraska Lincoln: Global Eyewitness Rwanda

Students in UNL’s Global Eyewitness one-of-a-kind multimedia journalism program traveled to Rwanda to report on issues of people in need.