How I Picked my Major

By Tessa Yackley, civil engineering major

Aerial view of the Donaldson Gardens and the Meiers Commons

I was never the kid that knew what I wanted to be when I grew up. By the time I was transitioning to college, that became a huge burden on my shoulders. I wanted to help people, that’s what I knew, but I had no idea how I would get there. During the second-semester of my senior year of high school I decided at random to study biological systems engineering. I chose this because I was scared to go into college undeclared and didn’t want to waste any time. Soon, with the help of UNL advisors, I would realize that no class or educational opportunity is ever time wasted. By taking the time to find your passion, you are giving yourself the chance to explore the world of opportunities in front of you.

Photo Credit

I started freshman year as a biological systems engineering major. I was four weeks into the intro class and was terrified. I knew this was not what I wanted to study but had no idea what steps to take to find what I did want. A close friend of mine, and a New Student Enrollment Orientation Leader at the time, told me to meet with Career Services. In five weeks, I knew what I wanted to study, but walking into the office for the first time I was lost. I talked with a professional who helped me discover what my values are, what I want in life, what I hope to accomplish, and how I can apply my drive to help people. I did lots of research, and Career Services set up opportunities for me to interview and talk with professionals in careers I found interesting. I talked with a phycologist, an actuary, and a civil engineer. By talking with these professionals, I was able to see where my values, passions, life goals, and excitement to help others aligned. For me, that was still within the College of Engineering, but with an emphasis in civil, not biological systems. Although I didn’t change colleges, I changed my major within the first semester of school and found with the help of career services the major I have grown to absolutely love and find passion in the dreams I have created for myself as a future engineer.

As an engineering student, I recognize the responsibility that is in my hands to make a better future, and as a future female engineer, I have an added responsibility to the women of this field as well. I am a woman studying in a field that is 80% male — this comes with both challenges and opportunities. I want to show future generations that the way you look does not determine how successful you will be, change how much of an impact you will have, or make your ideas lesser than those of the majority sitting around you. As a future engineer, I realize how vital my role will be in creating real change that will have an impact on the lives of so many. That is my favorite part of engineering. It is all about a life of giving back your creativity to cultivate real change in and for those around you. I cannot think of a better way to do that than as a female engineer.

My first internship as a civil engineering student at Garber Surveying Service

I love the career path I found. It is full of never-ending opportunities to grow and change. Although I have decided on my major in civil engineering and minors in mathematics and architectural studies, I don’t know exactly what I want to do with it today. I have grown to become comfortable in the unknowns, enjoying the journey of learning as I go. As a freshman, I felt that I had to have my whole life planned out so I could become successful as quickly as I could. Soon I would learn that education is not about how quickly or how successful you become; rather, it’s all about learning what you love, finding what drives you forward each day, and sharing your passion to benefit the community. I thank Career Services for helping me navigate a confusing time in my educational journey, professors who have reminded me that I am capable of attaining my dreams, and the university for instilling services that help students thrive no matter where they are on that journey.

To stay up to date, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

--

--