Meet a Husker: Mackenzie Leblanc

Mackenzie Leblanc is an advertising and public relations major and current New Student Enrollment leader from Lincoln, Nebraska.

Why did you apply to be a NSE leader?

I had such an authentic NSE experience with my orientation leader, Bridget Lang, I wanted to be able to offer the same opportunity for students to fall in love with Nebraska in the way that she did for me!

Best advice to a new college student:

Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. This is a time made for self-exploration, so don’t let comparison or doubts hold you back from trying new things and meeting new people!

Name a person who has helped you be successful at Nebraska.

My ADPR professor, Nancy Mitchell, was a huge factor in helping me network throughout the CoJMC! She provided encouragement and a support system for me within the college which helped make Nebraska feel like home.

How have you connected to campus during your time here?

One of the best thing I did to connect with others on campus was to go through sorority recruitment, try out for my a cappella group, and form relationships with my professors early on! Through this, I was able to start school with a support system from the very beginning.

What does being a Husker mean to you?

Being a Husker means joining a community of individuals who root for you, support you, and push you to become the best professional and personal individual that you could possibly be!

Fill in the blank: “The best thing about Nebraska is ____.”

The opportunities that it provides for its students to connect with one another!

“The Westbrook Music Building has been the place in college where I found my home although I am not a music major. Walking through the front doors of this building after just my first few weeks on campus to audition for a co-ed A Cappella group, Pitch Please, was my first step of making the University my home. After joining the group I have enjoyed many late nights laughing and rehearsing here, memories that I will hold overwhelmingly close when looking back at my collegiate journey.”

Get to know Mackenzie and other NSE leaders through their Spotify playlist!
To stay up to date, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

--

--