On Campus: National Society of Black Engineers

--

Elena and another NSBE member smile for a photo during the club fair as they tell other Huskers about their organization

Elena Butler, a senior biological systems engineering major, found a home in the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE). Now the president of NSBE, Elena is fostering community on campus and opening doors for a future in engineering.

Talk about why you decided to apply to Nebraska and what propelled you to become involved in the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE).

I decided to apply to Nebraska because it was my mom’s alma mater! I first learned about NSBE through my best friend Nyawa Allieu and her Professor Tony Roebuck. I immediately was interested in this because being black in the STEM field can be very isolating and NSBE helped me build a community.

How did you choose to pursue a degree in engineering?

I was always interested in math and science growing up and was super involved in the Science Olympiad in high school. I chose my major in biological systems engineering because it utilizes every science class and math class and also has practical application.

What is the best part about being involved in NSBE and do you have any goals as president?

The best part about being involved in NSBE is the community it has given me. All of the members are supportive and they feel like family to me. It is nice to feel a sense of belonging.

One of my goals for the National Society of Black Engineers is to take members to the national conference in Atlanta, Georgia in March! Another goal of mine is to increase our campus presence and build awareness. I want more people to know about NSBE.

Why is it important to have programs like NSBE on campus?

Outside of the National Society of Black Engineers, black people are the anomaly in the STEM field. As the anomaly, we do not get to exist as normal people and we don’t get to see our people succeed, especially not in engineering where the field is so white-male-dominated. NSBE provides a space where you can leave your woes at the door and be with other like-minded people. This organization helps to provide educational and professional development opportunities.

How will your campus involvements, specifically NSBE, help you in the future?

NSBE has helped me already with getting professional contacts within my field and learning more about post-grad opportunities. Additionally, it has given me friends that will last me a lifetime.

What is one piece of advice you would give other students looking to get involved on campus and take on leadership roles?

I would say to look for something you’re passionate about. If you’re passionate about it, it’s easy to get involved and set goals.

Is there anyone who has had a positive impact on your time at Nebraska?

Yes, two main people I would say are Dr. Greg Bashford and Professor Tony Roebuck.

Dr. Bashford has been my number-one supporter in my department. He was my professor for my signals and systems, and instrumentation courses. Anytime I need advice I know I can go to Dr. Bashford. I have never had someone believe in me as much as he has.

Professor Roebuck is our NSBE advisor and to have someone that looks like you and is doing so well is so inspiring. He goes above and beyond for his students and is always willing to meet and help in any way he can.

What’s something you have learned at Nebraska that you will take with you?

You have to take every opportunity you can! It may seem stressful now, but every stressful thing has paid off for me. As graduation approaches, I have way more opportunities and offers than I thought I would ever have. Additionally, get involved in an RSO and find your community!!

What do you hope to do after graduation?

After graduation, I am still a bit uncertain. As of right now I am thinking I will pursue my master’s in biomedical engineering, hopefully here at UNL, working with signals and systems, perhaps with medical imaging equipment or BCI’s (brain computer interfaces).

NSBE members at a STEM conference

To stay up to date, follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

--

--