Alumni spotlight: Matt Shobe

A quarterly series where we check-in and learn what former HCDE alumni have been up to since graduation

Alumni Leadership Board (ALB): What degree did you get as part of the UW’s HCDE program?

Matt: It’s no longer called Technical Communications, but I got a Masters in the Technical Communications program in 1996.

ALB: What do you do?

Matt: I’m currently Rogue Leader at Rebellion Defense.

ALB: What? What’s a Rogue Leader and tell me more about Rebellion Defense?

Matt: Rebellion Defense is a company focused on building AI-enabled software for the mission of defense and national security. Our primary customer is the U.S. Department of Defense and the United Kingdom’s Ministry of Defence.

Rebellion software helps our customers find and fix cybersecurity vulnerabilities, uses AI to aid intelligence analysts and commanders in making better decisions faster, and orchestrates autonomous mission planning and execution.

In my role as Rogue Leader, I opened Rebellion’s Seattle office and now help with various engineering, design and product management activities here on the West Coast.

ALB: How did the UW degree help you in your current role?

Matt: User centered design and research has been the backbone and through line for the variety of roles I’ve had. I worked for a lot of startups before now, but stints at bigger companies like Google have also informed my worldview.

My design and research studies helped me understand the importance of knowing who we are building for.

From field research methods, usability testing, and rapid prototyping, all those methods have helped me as a UX individual contributor and now leader.

My education has helped me select the right research methodology and approach for a given product development challenge.

ALB: What specific classes or instructors from your UW Master’s program stuck with you?

Matt: David Farkas was a wonderful instructor who taught about hypertext and learning systems. He helped me think about the entire surface area of user experience, and especially about how text is interface. Writing well, with an economy of language, is as important as anything else you do in UI design.

My courses showed me how to explore the “why of something.”

Judy Ramey who has since retired, was a wonderful thinker and pragmatist about research. She had a grant to do research on the 9–1–1 emergency centers. I got to listen in on some calls. This work was energizing. In this case, it made me want to cut the red tape to help first responders be more effective.

As a student, I was literally researching how to improve life-saving applications.
I’ve also worked with Julie Kientz on the advisory board for the department and have been inspired by her leadership during the pandemic. I’ve also been impressed with connections she’s helped HCDE make to the industry.

ALB: What advice do you have for those starting a career in UX?

Matt: So much of what we do is inspire folks.

Designers and researchers find the data and properties that will help improve experiences.

If you can help people understand the why then you are in good shape. I think a lot about Simon Simek’s Start with Why book.

When it comes down to it, a strong UX practitioner can paint a picture, show that hero’s journey to get people on your team inspired and jazzed.

Many thanks to Matt for taking the time to chat with us this quarter!

Have an alum you think the ALB should interview? Email us at hcdealb@gmail.com

--

--