Unplugged? Does Anyone Even Do That?

Tawnya Means
UNL Teaching and Learning
3 min readMar 2, 2018

--

Photo by William Iven on Unsplash

This #CCCWrite prompt was the hardest for me so far. I reason that it is because I don’t feel that I can allow myself to unplug. With my job and life being so digital, almost everything that I do is connected online in one way or another. I realized this week, as I considered the prompt of how I unplug, that I don’t. In a technologically enhanced world, where everything is connected (even our appliances can be a part of the Internet of Things), it is hard to imagine what life would be like without constant access to information and people.

Is It A Good Thing?

As is the answer to so many questions… it depends. Sherry Turkle has a fascinating Ted Talk where she describes how we are using our devices and our social networks to be connected, but still be alone.

She points out that we tend to use our devices to avoid being alone in our thoughts, we are scared of solitude and being reflective, and that we are using our devices to avoid the messiness of relationships and friendships.

When Is It Appropriate To Be Connected?

My 14-year old son told me that the best thing his algebra teacher did for his learning was to require all the students in the class to put their phones at the front of the room during class. Even though he was not a habitual device user (at least during class), it was distracting to him to have the device on his person. My son reported that he enjoyed the class more, learned more, and felt more confident in his understanding of the material based on this simple requirement.

On the other hand, physical distance means that there are often people we can’t physically be connected with unless we are online. I have a large extended family, spread around the country. We use Google Hangouts, text messages, and Facebook to stay involved in each other’s lives. We share quick thoughts, plan get togethers, and brag about our kids. These simple methods of staying in touch would be much more difficult without being online.

What Do We Need To Remember About Connectedness For Teaching?

Not all technological use in the classroom is a bad thing! There are completely reasonable and important reasons to use technology in teaching. But, as we consider when it is appropriate to be online and when we need students to be fully present in the moment, we should remember that it is our role as the instructor to set expectations for use of devices in the classroom. Need a few ideas about how to implement this in class?

#Goals

So, I think I have convinced myself… I know that technology is important, it is part of my daily life, and my world is better because of it. However, I need to take the advice of Roy Hessel at Business Insider to take 24 hours every week to be offline and focus on reading, reflection, really talking with friends, and appreciating the quietness and solitude that is available without a distracting device.

--

--