College World Series Activities

The Men’s College World Series is always an extremely busy time for the people of Omaha, Nebraska whether you are an avid baseball fan, a store owner or a downtown fanatic. The “CWS” draws in fans from all over the country as well as Nebraskans.

Every year for as long as I remember, I have attended at least one game of this baseball tournament(usually more). Whether I go to a game, the Fan Fest (free games geared at the younger fans), clothing tents (team t-shirts, CWS gear, etc.) or just walk around downtown, it is always an experience I really enjoy and remember.

This year was a little different, however. Since I just turned 21, I had the chance to visit different “21 and older” tents.

Not only did these tents feature alcoholic beverages, but they had food vendors and tents that you could purchase from once gaining entry.

The first place I visited was the Slowdown Beer Garden. This is located directly across the street from T.D. Ameritrade Park, so it is a quick and easy walk either before or after a game. There was one food truck serving expensive tacos. I didn’t try these, but from the looks of it, they were nothing special. The drink tents were separate from the food here. Many of the vendors only took cash, but there were ATMs located in many places (however, there was a charge of $5 in order to take money out).

The second place I visited was the Mattress Factory. This is located about three blocks away from T.D. Ameritrade Park, so more of a walk, but it is still an easy walk. The Mattress Factory definitely attracts more of a younger crowd with a DJ playing most nights. However, there is a cover in order to get in the Mattress Factory. If you go before 8:00 p.m., there is no cover. Between 8:00–9:00 p.m., the cover is $5. Between 9:00–10:00 p.m., the cover is $10. Anytime after 10:00 (and depending on how busy this location is), the cover can go up to $20.

I attended the Mattress Factory when I knew I would just be going to have drinks with my family, get dinner and watch the game in a fun environment. I walked around looking to find the best food option before settling on Pulled Pork Nachos after having a flavored Bratwurst just a few days before. The quality and quantity were impressive for only $8 compared to the Bratwurst I had just days before for $7. I was definitely shocked that I received so much for just $8 compared to the other prices of food items. This tent I went to can only be accessed from within the Mattress Factory.

Some drinks and food go for a fairly high price. These pork nachos cost $8 while the alcoholic bucket was $12. Most places surrounding TD Ameritrade Park only take cash.

Next, I got a drink. I had seen people carrying about “buckets” that featured the special “CWS” Mattress Factory logo for the two-week-long event. I figured I might as well try it. With only two options for drinks to order that came in the bucket, I opted for the Margarita. This cost me $12. A little expensive, but the taste was excellent.

There is a variety of different vendors once you step inside the Old Mattress Factory outdoor space with food and drink options. There is also a variety of tables including sit down tables and standing tables (like pictured here).
Here is an inside look at what the Old Mattress Factory outdoor space looks like during the CWS. After the game is over, this location features different entertainment like music and DJs.

Finally, we spent the rest of the night cheering on Louisville against Mississippi State who ended the game with a walk-off single. Although we could not hear the announcers, it was a great location to watch the game live with good food, good drinks and good company all supporting the game of baseball.

--

--

Kassidyotteman
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Summer Travel Blog

Current student at the University of Nebraska — Lincoln studying Leadership and Sports Media & Communications!