My friend the Grim Reaper

Austin Petti
2 min readAug 24, 2020
Image by Tatsuya Ishida “Sinfest” webcomic series

I was laid out in the gutter.

From a night, rather a life, full of sins.

As my eyes were still closed.

I saw a dark form, like a shadow.

It came at me with intensity and force.

I begged, I pleaded and I fought.

But nothing seemed to work.

I was no match for this thing.

Told it to give me one last chance.

It said with great power in its voice, “If I find you again, on the brink of death face down in the gutter or dirt.

You’re coming with me and it is going to hurt.”

It gave me a second chance when no one else would.

I went through the pain that was my life.

Flashing bright, I’ll admit i even cried.

To turn this pain to pleasure.

To live a life.

So, I crawled out the gutter.

Walked through burning flames.

Then, drowned myself in the rivers and the raging seas.

But I denied what my mind desired.

To tame this evil beast that lives inside.

--

--

Austin Petti

Simple thoughts on life, the good the bad the rude the distasteful chaotic life of a guy through writing and poetry. <script type=’text/javascript’ src=’https:/