Wistfulness

Yoshita Jain
1 min readJul 15, 2024

--

photo by Julliette and Aaron
Photo by Juliette and Aaron

I wish we hadn’t crossed paths,

I wish I had never replied to that text.

I wish those late-night conversations had never happened.

I wish I never fell in love with you.

I wish I had never awakened to the sight of love.

I wish I had never held you so high, like the moon in the night sky.

I wish all of your affection and care for me were genuine.

I wish we stayed strangers to one another.

I wish we never shared those memories.

I wish I had never called you mine.

I wish you were never a part of my life.

I wish you loved me as much as I love you.

I wish you never broke those promises.

I wish you had never left me.

I wish we never said goodbye.

I wish we could turn back the time.

But, alas, all I can do is wish and sigh.

--

--