About Me

Miyoba Buumba
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2017

My name is Miyoba Buumba from Lusaka, Zambia. Am 28 and I hold a Bachelor of Education with Environmental Education from the University of Zambia. I started realizing the magnitude of my passion for the natural environment and poverty reduction when it dawned on me that the wildlife that I was seeing round my village was no more, when I started missing school because collecting firewood took more hours than ever, when it came to my attention that water scarcity was becoming a source of conflict in my village and when I learnt that crop failure was rising due to reduced rainfall. Experiencing the intense impacts of poverty and climate change as a rural child had a tremendous impact on my commitment to solving critical social issues.

The quest for answers to as why livelihoods were changing and degrading kept growing stronger, when time came for university enrolment, I already knew I was going for anything related to the natural environment. I found myself majoring in Environmental Education. This program provided me with extensive knowledge in the importance of intertwining economic, social and ecological aspects to achieve global sustainable development.

Am glad this day, that am part of the UNLEASH LAB 2017 which I see as a power house where innovative minds will battle to find solutions to global challenges and make tremendous progress towards achieving the UN SDGs. The UNLEASH themes are not just a critical selection but also a motivation to talents giving us the opportunity to collectively find solutions to the problems we are passionate about. Allocated in the Food them, I hope ti use this opportunity to present my ideas on farming practices that are cheap, environmental friendly, improve soils and enhance food security.

--

--