Nicholas Ransome
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2017

--

Considering how we’re slowly destroying the planet, it’s great to receive some good news once in a while: I’m incredibly happy to have been given the opportunity to join in the first global Unleash workshop, and I am hugely looking forwards to working on the SDGs and solutions to today’s and tomorrow’s problems in collaboration with so many bright talents from all over the world.

Weekly I read articles or news-bites that outline the increasingly grave consequences and dire perspectives for our planet, and it’s easy to become disheartened. But since I joined the unleash-network, my mind has shifted more towards solutions rather than despair simply due to the sheer amount of positive energy, optimism and entrepreneurial spirit I have encountered. And the event hasn’t even started yet!

This coming week I am hoping to widen my horizons by listening and discussing as many aspects of sustainability as possible with people from as many backgrounds as possible. Learning from each other’s insights and knowledge sharing is one of the only true shortcuts in the sustainable revolution. If we don’t have to keep reinventing what others have already accomplished, we can channel our resources towards pushing the boundaries even further.

In all honesty, I know that whatever small advances I make in my work at Lendager Group with architectural and urban sustainability in Denmark, it probably won’t make a huge impact on a global scale – unless we can collaborate across borders to develop scalable and flexible solutions that can leverage a much bigger impact.

That’s all for now – I’d better get packed for the next week at Højskolen Øresund in Aabenraa and the final event in Aarhus…

--

--

Nicholas Ransome
UNLEASH Lab

Architect working with sustainable urban planning