Does rhizosphere microbes promote crop productivity? Important question in plant breeding.

Casper Kamutando
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2017
Casper Nyaradzai Kamutando (Zimbabwean): 28 years old

I was basically trained as a Crop scientist, however with much strength in Plant breeding. Both, my BSc Hon’s and MSc projects where in Quantitative genetics, specifically the use of stability analysis and genetic designs tools in a plant breeding program. I also got to be exposed in practical maize breeding during my internships at Pannar seeds, Agriseeds and the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT-Southern African Regional Office in Harare, Zimbabwe). Throughout the training in these companies, I learnt how to design and to manage maize breeding nurseries and trials, data collection, data handling, data analysis and exploitation. Most importantly, I learnt how to work with people (teamwork). I am currently studying the diversity and the functional roles of soil microorganisms associated with the root system of an invasive tree, Acacia dealbata in South Africa as part of my PhD studies in Genetics at the University of Pretoria in South Africa. My future research interests are in understanding the functional roles of soil microorganisms in promoting adaptability and yielding potential of food security crops such as maize, and how the plants recruit the beneficial microbiota in their root systems, especially under abiotic stress environments. I do hope UNLEASH will provide me with the opportunity to network with breeders who share the same interests as me as well as possibly linking me to potential sponsors, so that I can implement the ideas that I have.

--

--