Engineering as Problem-Solving for the Sustainable Development Goals

Natasha T Koermer
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
3 min readAug 7, 2017

When I was growing up, my parents encouraged me to study any field that I wanted though “it should probably be engineering.” My father, an electrical engineer by training, was beaming as I walked across the graduation stage last year to receive my Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Miami. Though my degree does not state my minors in Public Health and Spanish, these three areas taken together define me and how I want to impact the world. I see technology as one tool, and albeit not a complete solution in and of itself, to advance human health.

Receiving my Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering from University of Miami

For the past five years, I have volunteered with Engineers Without Borders USA (EWB-USA) on all kinds of projects ranging from a sanitation project in Ecuador to an urban gardening project in Miami. These projects were hands-on in the literal sense, involving land surveying equipment and power tools. When many people think of engineering, I am sure this is the imagery that comes to mind. My current full-time position at MAXIMUS, however, involves problem-solving the far less tangible: an information system for an American public health insurance program. I generally enjoy the experience of thinking critically and adding skills, both tactile and intellectual, to my metaphorical engineering toolbelt.

Water testing in Ecuador for a sanitation project with Engineers Without Borders USA

I have only been fully part of the professional workforce for one year, though I have certainly seen my skills multiply. For this reason, I am incredibly excited by the opportunity to “unleash” the skills I have gained as I embark on Friday to attend the UNLEASH Innovation Lab in Denmark. Through our online UNLEASH community, I have been collaborating with other talents in the Health theme on ideas and insights ranging from healthy at-home birth kits to telehealth for rural communities. I am sure I will be pulling from my wide array of engineering experiences next week and beyond as we advance our project.

Who are we? The inaugural UNLEASH cohort.

As I looked at the infographic provided to us last week (and yes, I love data!), I realized that I will be one of the younger attendees. I look forward to learning from all of my fellow UNLEASHers who come from countries around the world and all different backgrounds from academic to entrepreneurial. With only one year of experience outside of my formal education, I would hardly consider myself a “Tech Expert” though I am taking steps in that direction every day. All I can say is that I am grateful for my background in engineering and EWB-USA for the opportunity to be part of the inaugural UNLEASH cohort. I am thrilled and ready to engineer new solutions for the Sustainable Development Goals!

--

--

Natasha T Koermer
UNLEASH Lab

engineering + global public health | working @ MAXIMUS | volunteering @ EWB-USA