Food Waste Reduction: A Global Priority

Alexandra Berns
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
3 min readJul 23, 2017

My name is Alexandra Berns and my passion for creating an environmentally sustainable society is what drives me. I currently live in New York City, but have previously lived in Connecticut, Michigan, and Cape Cod, Massachusetts in the United States. I received a B.S. from the University of Michigan where I studied both Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Evolutionary Anthropology. Following my graduation, I spent a year in AmeriCorps addressing environmental issues on coastal Massachusetts by working on habitat restorations, invasive plant removal, trail building, shellfish propagation to improve water quality, among other projects. I then chose to channel my efforts towards finding more upstream environmental solutions by pursuing an M.P.H. in Environmental Health Sciences with a certificate in Toxicology at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health. By improving my understanding of the chemicals in our environment, I am better able to address the calamity of growing global pollution.

Specifically, I am interested in the chemicals of pollution and food waste. Globally, up to 40% of food is wasted. In the United States, this translates to approximately 400 pounds of food wasted per person annually. This is an astonishing inefficiency and misallocation of resources. When food is disposed and organic matter breaks down in the anaerobic environment of a landfill, methane is released into the atmosphere. Methane is a much more potent greenhouse gas than carbon dioxide. By reducing the amount of organic waste sent to landfills we can drastically reduce the amount of methane released into the atmosphere. By composting the organic matter in an aerobic environment: no methane is released, the amount of matter sent to landfills is decreased, and nutrient rich soil is produced. Surveying different communities, I have found that people often do not know this information. Further, even if they are knowledgeable of the benefits it is often logistically difficult or unreasonable for them to compost on their own.

Before beginning my undergraduate degree, I founded and operated a composting company in my hometown. Aware of the many benefits of composting, I did not understand why most people I knew did not compost. I spoke with community members and found that convenience was the largest impediment. My company addressed the issue by providing a weekly pickup service and composting the materials at my own site. I provided a service to individuals who desired the benefits of composting, but were deterred by lack of knowledge or a place to compost their food scraps.

While this was a small start to addressing a global issue on a local level, the world needs to address the issue of food waste with increased urgency and importance. There is no one solution that will solve the problem, but an interdisciplinary approach must be taken: change in consumer behavior, corporate buying patterns (including those of grocery stores, school systems, restaurants, etc.), government sponsored and mandated composting programs, creation of large-scale both aerobic and anaerobic digester facilities, among a host of other possibilities.

My unique background and skill-set in ecology, community engagement, and environmental toxicology will make me an invaluable member of the UNLEASH team. I strive to make a profound impact in my community and ultimately globally. Participating in UNLEASH in August, 2017 will provide me a platform to offer my insight and ideas towards solving global challenges, specifically the reduction of global food waste. I am thrilled that UNLEASH will provide me the opportunity to create connections with individuals and institutions across the globe as I strive to make a positive and lasting global impact.

--

--