From Information Literacy to Climate Literacy

Helen Nneka Okpala
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
4 min readAug 10, 2017

As a Librarian, I have always been involved in Information literacy — educating our library users on how to access online databases, Online Public Access Catalogs (OPACs) and Institutional Repositories (IRs) to source materials for their research. I am a Certified Librarian working in Nnamdi Azikiwe Library, University of Nigeria, Nsukka. I have been involved in training of students and staff on blogging and Social media use for research purposes. I have been recently appointed by our Vice-Chancellor as Coordinator of University of Nigeria Bloggers Association. My experience as the Library Web manager since 2008 has really helped me to master how to navigate the online platform to help educate information seekers all over the world.

In December, 2015, I organized an event for Library and Information Science Students on ‘Understanding Climate Change’, under the auspices of the Young African Leadership Initiative (YALI). I earlier offered the course on the YALI platform and engaged in teaching same, as I believe in educating people as a Librarian. But then, I thought of going beyond Information literacy to Climate literacy, so as to take part in the actualization of the Sustainable Development Goals.

Event Poster

The event was organized to sensitize participants on Climate Change Issues. The target audience was final year students from Library and Information Science Department, University of Nigeria, Nsukka. The event was in a bid to fulfill the #‎YaliGoesGreen mandate of Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI), to educate communities on the science behind climate change, how it affects us all, and how to address it. I first took the course on ‘Understanding Climate change’ available at: https://youngafricanleaders.state.gov/courses, then organized a #‎YaliGoesGreen (Understanding Climate Change) event which held on 9th December, 2015 and was attended by 39 Final Year students. Two questions were raised during the brainstorming session thus:

a) How does Climate Change affect your Community?

b) As a Librarian (in the making), how would you get involved in this environmental movement?

Group Photograph with the students

The students formed groups and presented their idea on the raised questions. To address question 1 on how climate change affects their community, the five groups were allotted ten minutes to brainstorm and generate ideas for discussion. Each group identified factors contributing to climate change in their community.

When asked if they knew about climate change and its effects, one participant responded:

“I have always heard about climate change, but I never knew I could contribute to the drastic effects of climate change. For instance, I never knew that hair sprays and other kinds of sprays could contribute to greenhouse effect”.

In response to a question about librarians ‘stake in the environmental movement’, another participant shared:

“I have always thought that librarians do not have any part to play in whatever does not concern cataloging and classification of books. Now I am knowledgeable about other ways that I can contribute to my society other than shelving of books and offering traditional library services”.

A third student added:

“We thank the facilitator for introducing us to the basics of climate change and also pointing us to YALI network where we can obtain more knowledge about climate change in order to educate others”.

I realized from the workshop, that many of our students lack basic knowledge about Climate Change and the SDGs. The result of the workshop inspired me therefore, to do more on Climate Literacy and that is why I have chosen SDG 13 (Climate Action) as my area of concentration in realizing SDGs.

Climate Literacy has become my passion and I hope to collaborate with fellow UNLEASH talents, to spread the gospel of Climate Change across the globe, so as to create more awareness of SDG Goal 13.

I hope to gain from UNLEASH, enough knowledge to get me started with my brain child NGO where I will engage the Nigerian kids and youths in taking climate action.

I have chosen to establish Climate Change Clubs for promoting climate literacy in Secondary and primary schools in Nigeria. I intend establishing C3 Nigeria (Climate Change Club Nigeria) in primary and secondary schools in Nigeria and I think this will be the first of its kind in my country. The club will expose the kids and youths to opportunities to attend workshops, be innovative and create new ideas in relation with actualizing SDG 13. Events and competitions shall be organized, engaging the students to brainstorm and come up with ideas and solutions which will be tested and applied. Blog reports and more, will carry activities. Thanks to UNLEASH for the platform to realize my dreams.

--

--

Helen Nneka Okpala
UNLEASH Lab

#UNLEASH SDG Talent, #YALI Green Champion#, Climate Literacy Enthusiast, #Makerspace advocate, #SDG 13 Envagelist, #Librarian, #Expert Blogger, @helenekez