Gathering Energy to Unleash it

Nicolás Canusso
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
3 min readAug 6, 2017

It’s almost there, the await is coming to an end, and the day that 1000 dreamers share their knowledge, their work over these years and their passion about sustainable development, is coming close. As some 90s sitcom character would say: “Could I be any more excited?”.

It seems that I could not, because taking part of such an event as Unleash means to give a huge step on what we’ve been learning and working for many years.

In my case, it all began in high school, when I first met Renewable Energies. I was so thrilled with the idea of environmental-friendly types of energy that my final project was a Solar Remote-Control car.

Wind Farm at Langen-Neuenwalde, Germany

Later on, after studying mechanical engineering in my beloved Buenos Aires, I had the opportunity to deepen my knowledge of Renewable Energies in Germany, at the University of Bochum.

During that time, I also had the chance to work for a company that develops wind parks. That’s when I truly discovered the high potential they have, and how a distributed electrical grid is far better than a centralized one.

For countries as large as Argentina, is rather difficult to trust only in a few centralized energy suppliers (such us nuclear and combined cycles), and power the whole country. I believe that the key here is to start thinking about decentralized energy systems.

Nowadays, I am learning about these types of systems, focusing on renewable water pumping systems. According to the UN, one in 10 people lack of improved drinking water sources, and I think that decentralized energy systems could help to improve these numbers.

“According to the UN, one in 10 people lack of improved drinking water sources”

Mainly because people living within these conditions, could be provided with a trustworthy and environmental friendly energy source, such as renewable energies, in order to power up solar pumps or solar water purifiers to get access to reliable drinking water.

Even though renewable energies are my passion, I consider that it’s important to take care of the energy we have. That is why I am doing the EUREM Energy Manager course, focusing on Energy Efficiency.

In order to accomplish the UN SDG to reduce the emissions of CO2 by 2030, Energy Efficiency is the measure that has more impact to achieve this objective. According to international energy statistics, almost 50% of the emissions could be lowered by working on energy efficiency. So it’s also important to focus on improving our actual energy systems in industries, transport and buildings.

“According to international energy statistics, almost 50% of the emissions could be lowered by working on energy efficiency.”

I believe that it’s a matter of gathering energy in a more sustainable way and to take care of the one we’re already using. Just like ourselves these weeks before we arrive in Denmark, we’ve been gathering energy and enthusiasm, so let’s unleash our passion and let’s unleash all the energy we have to contribute on the SDG.

--

--