John Kiragu-CEO-PregMum Limited at Ilab Africa Research centre

Preventable Birth-related Mortality ,Can Get to Zero

Kiragu Macharia
UNLEASH Lab

--

My Name is John Kiragu, Registered Nurse (BSc Nursing University of Nairobi) in Kenya, CEO and Co-founder of PregMum limited a startup company developing a solution for pregnancy monitoring at hospital setting and beyond. I purpose to serve and work with expectant mothers ,community health workers, midwives ,nurses ,gynecologists and health policy makers to guarantee safe motherhood everywhere and anywhere in the world.

My inspiration towards addressing Maternal child health come not only from my clinical experiences of agonizing encounters of mothers sufferings and demise from birth related conditions ,but also from the determination and the success so far of First Lady,Republic of Kenya, H.E Margaret Kenyatta who has been running marathons to fund raise and create awareness to save mothers and their babies through Mobile clinics.

I have been selected to participate in the first ever UNLEASH LAB 2017 to join talents from all corners of the world to develop solutions for realizing United Nations Sustainable Development Goals in August 2017 and I will be working under the Health themes. Unleash Lab is a great opportunity for me to share and gain ideas and insights on the approaches to solving most pressing challenges of safe motherhood in least developed nations. I hope to network and partner with SDG talents globally towards implementing lifesaving ideas into health products and services so as to deliver Heath to all and For All ;SDG Number 3.

In the words of Margaret Kenyatta ,“…I am more convinced than ever that getting zero is not just a dream. It can be a reality. It is within Our reach…”, I also believe that Maternal-Child deaths from preventable conditions can get to Zero. I can’t wait to meet minds of the health SDG talents.

--

--

Kiragu Macharia
UNLEASH Lab

RN (BScN) @ Kenyatta National Hospital, MPH(HealthEconomics/Policy/Epidemiology)@ UoN & Startup Founder /Innovator @ UnderPressureAid and Preg Journey LTD