Camilla Hellen P. de Lima
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 24, 2017

--

Sharing knowledge and learning with other people on Unleash Lab 2017

Hello from Brazil! My name is Camilla Hellen Peixoto de Lima and I am honored to be selected to be part of the Water team of the Unleashlab 2017. Since I was little, I always had a connection to water. I started a Bachelor in Environmental Engineering and also did an internship in environmental education. These activities, inspired me to do my first research project. The aim of this project was to establish a strategy for assessing the water quality of a lagoon. I loved it so much that I chose academia as a career path; 7 years have passed and I still conduce research in the water field. I am passionate about this because I strongly believe that the work that I develop can contribute to increase the water quantity and quality, creating an environment with good outcomes for both humans and nature (SDG 6). I know that each one of us can make a change to the world and I try to make mine by doing research and transmitting it to people from the academic field and civil society. I am an Environmental Engineer with a Master on Water, Environment and Sanitation and current a Ph.D. student and researcher. In the past 7 years I conducted research about water quality, assessment of the hydrological impact of dams, environmental licensing, rain-flow modeling and recently environmental flows within watershed committees. I am also a member of the Brazilian and World Youth Water Parliament and worked in the technical chamber of the watershed committee Comitê Guandu in the state of Rio de Janeiro for an NGO. Been part of this event is once in a lifetime experience. Through it I want to contribute to other’s people ideas and projects with my knowledge and experience and I also could get insights for my activities in Brazil (research and voluntaries works) and for the project that I will be pitching (5 minutes Water Talk). I am sure that be surrounded by people with the same goal will be an amazing opportunity to create more ideas and projects and start also partnerships to make the world a better place for us all.

Environmental flows talk

--

--