The Relentless Search for a Breath of Fresh Air

Juliana Batista
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
7 min readApr 16, 2018

Training & Running an Ultra Trail Race in China

Mustard Fields in Guilin, China

The maximum distance I had run in race competition format was 10km… once. That’s 1/7 of what I had signed up for. To say I was screwed is an understatement. I’m an amateur runner at best, a fool and masochist at worst.

Tackling a road race is a different beast than an ultra-trail run for reasons that revealed themselves quite quickly. To sum it up, you can’t beat an ultra (even if you walk parts of it) with just brute physical force. I set a relatively modest training goal: just finish, injury free. Ok, what now?

Training in China

I live in rural-industrial China, specifically a fourth-tier manufacturing town, Gaoming, a part of Guangdong province. Those that like to recreationally run are few and far between.

My first attempts at training were outside on this path called the “Greenway”. It started off promising: the views are actually quite pleasant, featuring rolling hills among rice paddy fields and dragon fruit farms. However every time a motorcycle whizzed by, it left a trail of unbearable exhaust. The local factory workers’ prefer taking motorcycles to work — I am convinced that they are merely vessels to dispense noxious gases into the air! I was spending so much time focusing on how annoyed I was by the motorcycles that I couldn’t get into a state of flow. Ultimately, I decided treadmill running it is…

Despite escaping the exhaust, gyms in Gaoming do not have air filters (nor air conditioning, but hey let’s focus on one thing at a time). The AQI (for those not familiar, it stands for “air quality index” and is an international metric to measure the amount of PM 10, PM 2.5, NO2, and SO2 in the air) in Gaoming hovers around 100 AQI, but can spike as high as 350 or as low as 60. For a reference point, New York City is normally 30 and Los Angeles is 50.

Asia AQI Map 4/16/18

You know when you are feeling compelled to run forever? When there seems to be an intangible factor at play, positively influencing your run. There are natural rhythmic feelings that influence training no matter what the scheduled training plan dictates. Instead of flowing with my natural physical needs, I had to stay attuned to the AQI forecast. My biggest source of frustration would be days that I woke up feeling ready to go and then glancing outside into a smoggy haze knowing it would be smarter to cross-train.

Hanging out at an abandoned amusement park in 300 AQI (left) Another day at work in 270 AQI (right)

Training and racing in extreme and hazardous air pollution is not unfamiliar to some runners. This past November, Delhi held a half marathon in what seems to have been 266 AQI. The toxic level of pollutants from the previous week had been tempered, but runners still faced unpleasant conditions.

I had developed this insane consciousness for breathing that was borderline obsessive. I couldn’t stop thinking about air quality, the effects of pollution, and even the greater implications on the Chinese population. I couldn’t shake these thoughts whenever I was in China, because they focused on the air we breathe every. damn. day.

Smiling and bearing through a hike in Foshan, Guangdong (200 AQI)

The impact on training at times felt insurmountable. In the middle of February, I was fed-up with letting the pollution dictate my training and muscled through a 10k in 350+ AQI. For those that have never experienced this before, imagine putting on one of those inhaler masks from the hospital and fill it with your favorite campfire smoke. Now, breathe deeply and charge forward on the treadmill.

If I didn’t think I would get bronchitis, I don’t know what I was thinking. I learned the lesson the hard way that training in pollution is not effective, and at times it’s actually counterproductive.

Shifting Expectations

Since getting sick in February, I adjusted my training plan and shifted my expectations. A few guiding principles stuck: do not run in 150+ AQI, take longer runs with less intensity to reduce deep inhalation, and change your breathing technique to focus on short shallow breaths through the mouth. In an effort to train in better conditions, this led to many weekends in Hong Kong where the ocean breezes swept away a lot of the manufacturing toxins in the air.

Morning runs in Upstate New York

I went to upstate New York for a week in March and when I went for a morning run, it felt like I had taken off a drag suit and was finally able to swim free. My legs felt lighter and my mind was unfettered. I couldn’t believe the difference I felt physically and mentally.

Lead Up to the Race

Months of preparation had led to a 10km PR and maxing out my mileage by completing a 40km hike. My camelback was loaded with energy chews, first aid items, and an extra pair of socks. I tried to read about and test out my gear as much as I could in advance. Although I was proud and satisfied with my preparation, I was terrified about the race that lay ahead of me.

I realized that beyond the obvious mental grit and physical endurance that many potential ultra-runners possess, it is imperative to have time. Time to just get in those kilometers, just cover the distance. There were some factors at play that greatly influenced not only the time that I could run, but also the time I wanted to run. I am a runner for the scenery around me. I don’t run to look better nor do I run for my fitness, I primarily run to see. I run to see the world around me and to “seek the void”. I didn’t want to spend the time running because I was so uncomfortable and frustrated by my surroundings. I didn’t yearn to get out and explore, which made the training, at times, downright exhausting.

In Guilin, I was aware that I would have to pull from the depths to continue on and to relentlessly maintain momentum. But I knew I would be able to carry on because I would be surrounded by the vast karst landscapes and traversing some of the most picturesque scenery China had to offer. I was ready to go.

Race Day

With colleagues from Esquel Group at the starting point in Xing Ping, Guangxi China

A few of my colleagues and I made our way from Gaoming to Guilin on the high speed rail. Somehow the weather karma was on our side — it was a beautifully clear day with just enough overcast to not get too hot. The AQI was insanely low for China, at 60 I was stoked to get going!

There were a few things I had not expected:

  1. Unless you are superhuman or pro, it’s actually ineffective to run the entirety of the race. On steep uphills, maintaining a fast power-walk can be the best use of energy.
  2. Unexpected torrential downpours make things slippery and muddy — at one point I was scaling the side of a rock face, then basically sliding down the other side in a puddle of mud.
  3. You must eat consistently, even if your body rejects it. My body also struggles with maintaining an adequate level of sodium, so foods and gels with high salt content balanced out the intake of liquids.
  4. It is very easy to get lost, and may be the biggest loss of time for competitors. Solid navigation skills can make or break a race.
At the finish line: 3rd place for the women’s 70km (2600m elevation gain)

As the sun began to set, the trail felt unfamiliar and lonely — I hadn’t seen another runner since the 9th and last check point. This motivated me to push through the last leg of the race, yearning to just finish. Crossing the finish line in 3rd place at 12 hours was surreal — I had smashed the goal that I set out for myself!

Would I train for another ultra in China? Probably not. Would I train for another ultra somewhere else? Possibly, ask me once I’m less sore.

--

--

Juliana Batista
UNLEASH Lab

McKinsey | Esquel Group (海港中心) | Schwarzman Scholar | Cornell Alum | “Ta for Ta” Podcast