Unleashing the future generations

Sofía Benítez
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2017

Have you ever wondered, 60 years from now, what will be the news on the TV? Are we still going to hear about the same issues affecting humanity over and over again until the end of time? Or are we going to do something about it? I’ve been asking these questions to myself and I’m certain that I don’t want to be sitting on my couch wondering why I didn’t do anything when I had the chance. That chance is NOW.

Photo: WINGS Guatemala

As a young woman growing up in a developing country — Guatemala — I have realized that there are several issues that bother me as a woman, as a human. I have been fortunate enough live as a statistical exception when it comes to my country’s educational norms but most girls in Guatemala will not even get to secondary school. Furthermore, a high percentage of these girls, mostly living in rural areas, will get pregnant at a young age either way as the result of rape or the lack of sexual education and access to contraception.

The cycle will continue through the future generations unless someone does something to change it. It is clear that is not from the Government’s interest to help these girls with sexual education as part of the yearly school program. The opposition from the church, although it’s supposed to be a secular Estate, is palpable at the time of decision making regarding this issues. So the only chance for this girls is someone willing to listen, someone willing to help them break that cycle and I want to be that someone.

Photo: WINGS Guatemala

For a few years now, I’ve had this crazy idea where I make a change in this girl’s lives. I want to create a platform where access to sexual education and information about contraception and STD’s is easy and reliable for anyone who wants to be informed. Information will not be complex and there will always be someone willing to help i.e. a counselor or gynecologist. The platform can be used worldwide in order to educate people with easier access to information. I believe Unleash and its Talents will help me develop this crazy idea into a project beneficial to thousands of girls all over the world because education is the base for creating a better, more equally developed society.

--

--