We all need to fight for something

Nina Verduin
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 8, 2017

With UNLEASH starting in less than a week, the excitement is really starting to build up. I was lucky enough to have been nominated by my school and selected by UNLEASH to join this amazing 9-day program with talents from all around the world to work on the Sustainable Development Goals.

Hi! This is me :)

I am 23 years old and currently studying my master Global Business and Sustainability at the Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University. I was born in the Netherlands (where my father comes from) but grew up mostly in Tanzania (where my mother comes from). As we traveled back and forth between the Netherlands and Tanzania to visit family or to follow my father’s job changes, I was constantly exposed to the stark contrasts between the developed and developing worlds. This, and my dad’s work in public health, makes it no surprise that I want to fight for a better world. Therefore, after a bachelor in International Business Administration, the logical next step was studying how businesses can contribute to making these changes. I think that there is so much potential for companies to drive the changes with the power that they have. And this is why I want to continue studying social entrepreneurship next year.

Nursery school in Bukoba, Tanzania

For UNLEASH, I will be focusing on Education & ICT. I personally hope to focus on solutions for women and girls struggling to get education around the world, as well as solutions to the general lack of access to proper education in developing countries.

And in the future, who knows? As long as we’re all working together, fighting for the changes needed for a more sustainable world — in every sense of the word.

--

--