Why I’m ready to be UNLEASHED

Solomon Mutasa
UNLEASH Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2017

My name is Solomon Mutasa.

I was born in rural Zimbabwe 29 years ago.

I have been a journalist for the past 7 years covering stories of regional interest until recently when I decided to go back into my community and live a simple life.

It’s simple.

I noticed dams and rivers have been turned into deserts due to improper actions.Forests have vanished at the click of a knuckle.

I decided to be the change that our generation seek, after going through the Barack Obama founded Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI)Entrepreneurship program at University of South Africa, sponsored by the USAID and MasterCard Foundation.

Since then I have committed the rest of my life to make a difference in eradicating poverty and empowering marginalised societies especially rural women through agriculture.

Food wastage is at its best because of unsustainable supply chains.They are a lot of bad practices on the land, but it’s not too late to rectify them, we can through partnerships, co-creations, networking, fellowships and mind enriching innovation Labs like the upcoming in Denmark.

At UNLEASH Innovation Lab 2017 would commit to learn, engage and create change in my community along with other global trends. My participation is not for my own beneficial but for all of the local community that I work with on the implementation phase.

I started a project network that will grow horticultural produce then process into products like tomato sauce, jam and fruit juice. We will conduct farming workshops for farmers and facilitate partnerships and networks for the local farming community with the international players for a sustainable value supply chain.

It will be a green movement that will see more forests and orchards created through afforestation and industrialisation.

This value addition activity will increase productivity and target rural women for implementation of Agenda 2063 Aspirant 6- people-driven development unleashing the potential in its women and youth.

With a 20 year vision in place, we are setting the wheels for self-sustainability by eradicating poverty, food aid dependency for self-sufficiency. My vision is that if African economies are to grow and sustain their nations, its about a critical examination of how to mechanize and move to full scale industrialization in rural areas.

The conventional economic strategies of centralizing production, manufacturing and manpower will not stimulate the economy to the desired levels.

It is no longer business as usual.

Given the strength that Africa has in agriculture and to the extent that agriculture forms the main stay of rural dwellers, the income linkages between rural manufacturing industry and smallholder agriculture, forms the basis for growth in rural entrepreneurship.

Yes I have a dream to change my village, my country, my region and the universal world, that change is me!

Im the change that I have been waiting for.

Im ready to be #UNLEASHED

--

--

Solomon Mutasa
UNLEASH Lab

Social Entreprenuer devoted to impact marginalised African communities in achieving Sustainable Developmental Global Goals towards Agenda 2063