NFTs are the NEW Sports Team,… Let Me Explain.

Tom DeCicco
3 min readNov 9, 2022

--

For the first time ever, I signed a message with a reference to my holding in an NFT collection.

Just a concept, but I’d 100% watch a DF team of holders vs another project holders play sports-ball.

It was “Fella # 3403”, and what I’m realizing is that the connections I am identifying with have so much to do with acceptance and common ground in uncharted Web3 territory.

A fun “Tom Fact” is I am not a fan of many sports-ball games. I can watch them, but typically, only with friends who are super passionate about “their team.” I, for one, have never understood the draw to a team or group of players who represent a city by playing a game. On top of it all, regardless of the outcome of the game, it literally changes nothing in my life.

Maybe if the winning team’s state didn’t have to pay taxes the following year? I would cheer for all of the New York sports-ball teams… but I digress.

Today we are chatting about a group of people identifying with those who are equally passionate about a thing. I do this with NFTs. I scroll Twitter, respond to the gms with a gm, and follow other Twitter users with a DeadFella pfp (profile picture).

There’s an unspoken comradery in supporting the same collection. I often call this the WAGMI mentality. (WAGMI means We Are Gonna Make It for you non-Web3 people reading this.) :)

But it’s not even about projects mooning and making a bag. DF has a close-knit family feel. It’s funny because I have no expectations or promises needing to be kept for me to remain a happy holder. I love the vibe, I made some friends, and by just being a part of the same “team” I have made some incredible networking connections that could really help elevate the projects I’m helping work on, and the overall space.

Unlike traditional sports, following or supporting a singular team is much different when comparing them to NFTs. There may be favoritism in our holdings, but I don’t ever see it as project x vs project y. I see projects embodying the ‘rising tide raises all ships’ mentality, and that carries across to its holders.

You can own a Cool Cat, a DeadFella, and a Clone X at the same time, and you’re not going to get a wedgie in the parking lot of the next VeeCon from VeeFriends holders. (Unless it’s an Dickhead Duck holder, maybe?)
**Dickhead Duck is not a real VeeFriend, but it should be**

LMK if you want to buy this, I’ll 100% mint it to an NFT. 🤣

Remember fellow kids, NFTs are essentially sports teams. We support our leadership. We are there for wins. We are there for losses. We wear our team names on hats, and our backs. But, more importantly, it gives us the opportunity to connect with other fans and cheer for their success together.

--

--