Oh, hi there

Devon Delfino
Unnerved//Writer
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

1 min readAug 23, 2019

I hope you had a great week — mine was so so. Plenty of work to be done, but not that much energy to get all of it done. So I decided to give myself permission to do less work, to stick to the bare minimum for a while until I feel a bit more energized. It’s probably one of the healthiest decisions I’ve made in recent weeks, and it was difficult to get myself in that headspace. Still, I managed to hit all my deadlines and even started writing my novel (about 1,000 words out of 100k done) after worldbuilding and character development started to feel like they were stretching out into infinite and would never be done. That felt amazing. Now I just have to keep reminding myself of that fact so I don’t forget to do the things I love more often.

How’s your creative life going?

Also, in case you didn’t get a chance to read the articles I published this week, here are the friend links to everything I wrote:

Beginner Freelance Writer Mistakes: Fighting Against the Nature of the Job

5 Ways to Leverage Good Mental Health Days and Stay Ahead of Bad Ones

Freelancing with Anxiety: Here’s How to Manage Your Money

What to Do When You Enter the Freelancing Twilight Zone

Actually, You Don’t Have to Write Every Day

Anyways, have a great weekend and try to remember to cut yourself some slack :)

--

--

Devon Delfino
Unnerved//Writer

Independent journalist, SF/F writer. Bylines: the L.A. Times, Teen Vogue, the Establishment, etc. | Twitter: @devondelfino | IG: @authordevondelfino