Achterhoofd

The Art of Sander van Noort

Uno-Due
Uno-Due
2 min readJul 22, 2020

--

Dutch artist Sander van Noort doesn’t care much about soccer. But the sport has come to play a prominent role in his creative process as an artist.

“I never played football or had any interest in soccer. But when I’m stuck on a process, or when I want to start something new, I mostly start painting soccer-related paintings. Exactly because I don’t have anything with the sport, it allows me to make more mistakes than normal, and therefore I can be more creative with my art. It brings me to discover new fields of my creativity.”

As an artist who sees his art as a mirror of the world we live in, and with a specific focus on interpreting western society, it’s clear to see why the world’s most beloved sport can act as a creative catalyst.

In painting Dutch legend Johan Cruyff, van Noort titled the Achterhoofd, which is roughly translated as ‘in the back of the head’. It’s not hard to think of the importance of the sport for artists, and most importantly, how much football is engrained in our minds, whether we’re actively interested in the sport or not.

Check out all of his art here.

Achterhoofd (2020)
Oil on canvas
180 x 140 cm
Untitled (2020)
Oil on canvas
110 x 95 cm
Ruud Gullit I (2020)
Oil on canvas
80 x 60 cm
Ruud Gullit II (2020)
Oil on canvas
80 x 60 cm
I’m glad he’s fine (2020)
Oil on canvas
60 x 45 cm
John de Wolf (2020)
Oil on canvas
40 x 35 cm
Rudi Völler (2020)
Oil on canvas
45 x 35 cm

--

--

Uno-Due
Uno-Due

A printed and online publication on football and its reverberations on society and culture.