Dennis Ash
unpack
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2020

--

Lesson 2 was quite a bit more hectic than expected the volume of work was substantially more that lesson 1. The take-aways though are that Deep Learning is indeed far less daunting than expected. Seeing how relatively easy it is to set up data sets and train them was quite interesting, I have many questions that I hope will be answered later in the course since my experience of coding was far close to machine level than what Python is. My curiosity about the content of the modules that are called to carry out the function has been tweaked but I am pleasantly surprised to see how much easier coding is than what I had previously experienced.

I would say that someone who is able to think logically would be able to pick up the ability to code quite rapidly with a little extra encouragement and tuition to get over the initial hump but the course so far is very friendly on limited coding skills.

I am thankful to Alex for helping me sort out my problems with the database for bears — doing it this was has given me insights into how to set up my own database and access it, I know using Bing search is probably better in general but doing this myself and seeing the data on the google drive and how it is accessed taught me a lot.

I am still very positive about the course, even curious to go the extra few steps and dig deeper, after just the two lessons my understanding of AI and specifically DL has increased dramatically and I have a far better and clearer understanding of how to approach the projects I have lined up needing these skills … hey I might not even need to hire coders … haha who knows.

PS I am rather frugal with words preferring to get to the point a little faster rather than padding, so apologies for really short answers to the questions.

--

--