The High School Athletic Experience

Winning is fun, but is that what’s most important?

Kory Powell
UNPLUGG'D MAG
4 min readMay 24, 2017

--

The Hall Indoor Track team celebrates it’s first state title in 62 years. Wearing the backpack, my back may be turned, but believe me, I was pumped. (Dave Blodgett)

Yesterday, I competed as a high school athlete for the last time ever. Crossing the finish line with “HALL” spanning across my front chest brought a whole range of emotions. It got me thinking about what transpired for me over the last four years athletically; it got me thinking about what I and other student-athletes could take away from our respective sports.

Typically, the only thing that matters in sports is winning. If a team did not win a certain number of games in a season or fail to reach the championship game, many view it a waste.

I experienced this firsthand in the fall of my senior year. Heading into the 2016 cross country season, our team was poised to have lots of success and potentially contend for a state title. Being one of four captains on the team, I was stoked for the opportunity to be a leader of one of the best teams in the state.

Over the course of the season, we exceeded even our own expectations, at one point even ranking as the third-best team in the whole state of Connecticut. The day before the state championship, we believed we had a very good shot to win the meet. Unfortunately the team failed to live up to the hype we had set for ourselves in the weeks prior. Coming in fourth place, we did not end up being close to the title we coveted. While I did not compete in this race, cheering from the sidelines, the experience lent a silver lining. Through the tears and the disappointment I felt for my teammates, I found out what being a part of a team in high school really meant.

The following Monday, we held a team meeting. The top twelve runners gave their honest takes on what could’ve possibly gone wrong just two days prior. At this moment, it hit me: I felt extremely proud to be a captain of the team. I knew right then and there that this group of guys were going to come back in the following seasons and compete with a purpose. Through younger guns on the team, I was able to learn something about myself.

In my freshman and sophomore years, all that mattered to me was running well in races. If I didn’t perform to my expectations, the day was shot. What the varsity group was feeling related to me in an intimate and personal way. Success was the only option, and if you did not succeed, everything was a failure. What I have come to realize in my junior and senior years is that, contrary to what Vince Lombardi may tell you, while winning is fun, it is certainly not the only thing .

The fact of the matter is that out of the eight million high school athletes in America today, just 400,000 of them go on to play in college. And out of the 400,000 athletes that are blessed with the talent to be a college athlete, the majority of them will never come close to touching the pros.

What this means is that the majority of high school athletes today are having the experience of being on a team for the last time. Sure, some of them will go on to play club and intramural sports in college, and there will always be middle-aged dads running the local softball leagues. However, most of us are enjoying an experience unlike any other.

Yes, it is fun and rewarding to win, but what you gain from playing a sport is much more important and relevant than the shiny medal you get for taking the chip. It’s about the friendships you make, the mentors you gain, and the things you learn about yourself.

This is what I am going to take away from being a three-season athlete in high school. It’s what I feel truly marked a transition from being that underclassman who only wanted to run fast to the senior captain who looked at the big picture. Over the course of four years, I made some friends that I will have for a lifetime. They’re people I can tell anything to and know that they will always have my back. I’ve had knowledgeable coaches who care about me in all aspects of life, not just running, and who have given me insight on how to approach life on a day to day basis. I learned I could be a leader, having a positive influence on my younger teammates and knowing the actions I took were appreciated every step of the way. I learned that if you stayed dedicated to something, your hard work will pay off, even if it isn’t how you always envisioned it. And lastly, I learned that— whether you agree with it or not — the person you become in high school will help shape who you are for the rest of your life.

Being part of the Hall Cross Country and Track teams over the last four years is something I truly enjoyed. It has created countless memories for me that I will always look back on with nostalgia. While I didn’t run as fast as I would’ve liked and didn’t accomplish every goal I set, I know I end my high school career as better runner and person than I was at the start.

--

--