Unpopular Opinion: Gremlins 2 Is A Political Allegory No One Needs Right Now

Adam Tod Brown
Unpops
Published in
10 min readApr 1, 2019

--

I’ve had the “good fortune” to have been a little ahead of the curve on a few big news stories over the past few years.

For example, I’ve been promising the United States would eventually start frolicking around in Venezuela for way over a year now, and here we are.

It’s not a magic trick. I just read a lot of headlines and have no editorial oversight to stop me from doggedly pursuing my hunches, even if they take years to pan out.

The problem with being early to a story is that by the time the news cycle most of the rest of the world runs on finally catches up, there’s a natural inclination to want to climb the nearest mountain and yell “I’ve been saying this for a long time now!”

Maybe that’s just me, but I doubt it.

I experienced this again recently when the horror movie streaming service Shudder made the Gremlins movies available for streaming (don’t bother checking, they’re gone again, speaking of being early to a story). Not long after that, I saw this tweet from my pal and podcast co-host, Andy Sell.

With that, it was flag planting time. Because, you see, I wrote an article for Vice in…

--

--

Adam Tod Brown
Unpops

Former managing editor at Cracked and Playboy. Current owner/lead host of the Unpops Podcast Network. Read more at adamtodbrown.substack.com