THE BEST TASK APPS

How TeuxDeux can help you be productive

TeuxDeux nails task app simplicity with a designy touch.

Slater Katz
unproductive me

--

This is TeuxDeux:

TeuxDeux is one of my personal favorite to-do apps. It’s simple and just designed enough to be pleasing but not overwhelming.

There are two parts to TeuxDeux:

  1. Your main task area
  2. Additional (unlimited) lists for everything else in your life

That’s it.

To keep TeuxDeux organized in the main section, before every task, I label the task SK (personal) or NFX (work.) This helps me see at a glance what area of my life the task falls under.

I haven’t quite cracked how to use the additional lists (demonstrated by my empty “Someday” list.) That may be because I keep lists of broader ideas like where I want to travel in my note-taking app, Bear. That being said, some ideas for the kinds of additional lists you can create might be:

  • Travel list
  • Running list of what you’re grateful for
  • Habits you want to adopt
  • Name ideas for your future children
  • Holiday shopping
  • Regular shopping
  • Business ideas
  • Quotes you love

But why stop there — there’s so much more you can do with TeuxDeux…

Recurring to-dos

You can create recurring to-dos in TeuxDeux by typing a task like “Do something every weekand boom — your recurring task is created. The ending “every week” sets the timing of the to-do. Check the pro tip above to see what types of endings work.

There’s also a recurring to-do section in the menu which will take you to the pop-up above. Unfortunately, you can’t add recurring to-dos here, but you can view, edit, and delete them.

Daily email digest

If you check your email first thing in the morning, you might find this feature helpful. TeuxDeux will send you a daily email of your day’s to-dos at any hour you’d like. You can even choose to add to-dos by simply replying to said email.

If you’re wondering what the “from address” means, my best guess is you can customize the name of the TeuxDeux sender so you recognize it. That’s just my best guess, though.

You own your data in TeuxDeux

This is pretty cool, and something I’ve never seen in a to-do app. You can request a back up of your data from TeuxDeux at any time. Transparency ✊

Customize TeuxDeux with colors

As someone who loves to mix it up, this is one of my favorite TeuxDeux features. You can choose from one of nine preset colors or click the rainbow to pick your own.

Also, wondering what the “enable flying cat” checkbox means?

Flying cat = Utter cuteness and delight

I’m obsessed with the flying cat. It comes out every time you check off a to-do. Never gets stale; always delights.

Look like something you’re interested in?

TeuxDeux is completely free for 30 days. After that, you have to pay (in my opinion) a small price. You can sign up for a free trial here.

If you enjoyed this story…

You might also enjoy learning about Microsoft To Do— a more advanced alternative to TeuxDeux.

--

--

Slater Katz
unproductive me

Early bird, professional nerd, The Office lover, connoisseur of the hardcover, proficient puzzler, coffee guzzler