It’s Been Six Months, Now What?

Ebony Anderson-Brown
UnratedEbony
Published in
4 min readDec 18, 2018

--

I made six months at my company last week, and it feels like it’s been a year. Who would’ve thought working at a media agency could be both fun and stressful at the same time! Personally, I like getting caught up in the day-to-day noise of deadlines, meetings, and endless emails, because it all eventually turns into a media buy.

I’m at the point where I can sit all day and go on about my role as an integrated media planner, and I think that may be the reason why I believe my job can be fun. I get super passionate about what I’m talking about daily, even when I’m at a party with my friends. I’m pretty sure they’re getting tired of it by now.

But it’s been six months, now what? Luckily for me, my team already knew what was next…a check-in, to go over some strengths they saw and any areas I could grow in. Besides the fact that I even had a 6-month check-in, which by the way was extremely detailed, I also have a tangible document. Among themselves, my team had a conversation and really thought through the accomplishments I made in this role thus far, and I sincerely appreciated the feedback and thoughts from each of them. Overall it was amazing to see how far I’ve come, especially since this is only just the beginning of my career in media and entertainment.

When thinking ahead, having a moment to really evaluate the work you put into something can help you grow professionally, but also as a person. When it comes to the work that I do, even the relationships I build with people, I want to be able to reflect on that. As I mentioned earlier, I can get caught up in my day-to-day noise and forget the big picture. Having constant check-ins and being knowledgeable about where I stand physically and mentally in my work can be beneficial for me in the long-haul.

For example, there would be days when I just want to pack up all my stuff and leave through the front door, but then I remember why I even showed up in the first place. One of my team members jokingly said, “you come in every day and that’s more than what most people do.” The constant gratitude I receive reminds me that I’m actually wanted and valued. And sometimes that all I ever want from anyone, even the people I date. I’m not just receiving words of affirmation, but I’m also getting a boost in my confidence which ultimately betters my mental health.

With that being said, I’ve come to appreciate the team members I have and the appreciation they have for me. The check-in was tailored specifically for me, even in the areas where I can improve in is something that I work on with my therapist. Communication, personal accountability, and problem-solving were the three categories where there was room for growth. For those that know me very well, I take whatever feedback I’m presented with and run for the hills with it. Fortunately for me, the next steps were already on the sheet, and while they are meant to help me professionally, I saw some it overlapping in my personal life.

We have these evaluations and performance reviews for our professional careers, but when it comes to our lives outside of work, there’s nothing to measure our achievements that technically fall under those same categories. I decided that the key takeaway from my 6-month check-in is to continue to work on the areas I need improvement in to make me a better media professional, but to also implement it in my life as a whole. I believe that if I continuously work on perfecting these skills in my day-to-day at work and home, I can be a master in all.

It’s important for me to be able to evaluate myself, and truthfully, I should be able to do it at my own accord. However, in order to do so, I need to know what I’m evaluating myself on. For instance, what are my goals and objectives? How have I been working towards that goal? Based on my role/responsibility, where do I see myself in “X” amount of days, months or years? Once these questions are answered, I can then self-assess myself:

  • Review goals and objectives from the first check-in
  • Be proud of the accomplishments made and highlight specifics (write it all down in a notebook)
  • Honesty and criticism is crucial for improvements
  • Continuously striving for growth to prevent from being transfixed on a single mindset

While this all seems simple to remember, it’s very easy to forget especially when you’re doing the work. In all fairness, there just isn’t enough time in any day to refer to my goals sheet or pat myself on the back every time I do something right. Once I can master these steps, it shouldn’t be difficult to evaluate myself, and it serves as a great motivator. Finding the time to invest in my own professional development on top of the assistance I get from my team, can make me an extremely valuable asset anywhere.

I’m curious to know if you, the reader, can utilize any of this information. Even though it was a personal reflection of my professional career, I want to know if it is applicable for you, a friend or colleague. Feel free to send me a personal message or comment below with your thoughts, and remember to stay unrated!

--

--

Ebony Anderson-Brown
UnratedEbony

I’m a disc jockey, photographer, writer, and I want to be the next generation’s Oprah. Editor in Chief & Publishers of HangTime Magazine.