[REVIEW] RECKLESS — NAV is Still the Only Brown Boi on the Map

The new NAV album is the type of music you listen to driving down the interstate at 5am in your used Corolla eating leftover tandoori chicken your mom made for Ramadan.

Sultan Khan
Unruly Sounds
2 min readMay 19, 2018

--

After one album and a mixtape, this is easily NAV’s strongest project. He finally showcased newer types of flows, and graduated away from Metro Boomin’s generic trap production. NAV has managed to evolve from sounding like a text-to-speech software to a fully sentient AI. However, his monotone voice is part of the charm.

The best song is Champion with a strong Travis feature. These two sound good together. Travis really owed him for carrying beibs in the trap. Notable tracks are Faith, Champion, Eat, Wanted You, and Freshmans List. Where is the Weeknd feature though? I guess we’ll have to wait when Abel drops new music.

After hearing the bars like:

Buying so much ice I think I need an extra wrist
My belly was hurting now I order extra shrimp

I am convinced NAV has truly transcended to become the corniest lyricist right after G-Eazy and Big Sean. Although, he did have some witty lines in this tape. He somehow finessed every single song title from his previous tapes Perfect Timing and NAV into the last verse of Hold Your Hand. I find it incredibly smooth how he did that. Song titles bolded:

You were never ten toes down, so I don’t care They know who I am, I’m good for it The money is there. Now you call me yeah you feel some way. Did you see NAV he was spendin’ bands today? Last time I checked out I heard you played on both sides. Cut you off now only money on my mind (mind) The last time you held me down it’s been a minute. I put in work like A$AP Ferg you know I’m winnin. Feeling lonely after church, I called Mariah Told her bring it back, I need some more of ya Everything hit, look at my bust-down, make me feel rich

Overall NAV did a good job with his delivery. This tape sounds similar to his older work, but with improved flow and production.

--

--

Sultan Khan
Unruly Sounds

I build cool shit that solves first world problems