Sorry, I didn’t know you were black.

How mixed race children could mean trouble for identity politics.

Thomas St Thomas
Unsafe Space

--

Identity politics depends on one central idea: Identity. With the steady rise in babies being born of mixed race, the ability to categorize people and their ideas or oppression categories may be expanding and diluting to the point of dying. For each child born of two races or more, the purity of ethnic groups becomes less and less. Those whose ideology depends at least in part on ethnic intersectionality will have to find some other way to categorize. Sorry, but we’re turning your stew into a melting pot.

Being of mixed race, and entering into a mixed race marriage, I admit I had ideas about what that would mean for my kids. There was a picture in my head of light brown kids, with dark and possibly curly hair that my wife and I would have so much fun raising as a middle ground between she and I. That was a daydream that did not come to pass. At least the part that required melanin. My son has light brown straight hair, and looks like a little white kid who spent his summer in the sun. My daughter on the other hand is about as pink as a holiday ham, with bright blue eyes and curly blonde hair sprouting from her head. And when I say blonde, I mean transparent to the point of almost being see-through. Now I admittedly am not that dark, but at least…

--

--

Thomas St Thomas
Unsafe Space

I’ve got questions. Writing helps me find the answers. Husband, dad, Afghan vet, healthcare process consultant, former fitness guru.