REAL LIFE ACCOUNTS | HAUNTING

That Haunted Hotel Room on an Island

I was in middle school when it happened.

Morris T
UNSCIENTIFIC
Published in
6 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

Gloomy hallway.
Image by thefontbandit from Pixabay

It was a day that culminated in a terrible, long night of horror. I knew I wasn’t imagining it because I was with my older brother. This incident changed us both, my brother in particular.

The island

It was the school holidays and my parents brought us on a short trip. We hopped on a ferry to an island resort together with our relatives and spent a night there.

Like the ones you would find on postcards, the resort was lovely. Everything was in order and the service staff was friendly.

The plan was to proceed to our rooms and unload our baggage. After that, we would gather for a lunch buffet. We took an elevator, and the doors opened to a long hallway. The bright sun was gone, replaced by dark tones and ambient music.

The room

We found the room beside our parents’. Before I inserted the card key, I knocked gently on the door and gave notice to any would-be denizens of the room.

The musky smell was the first thing that struck me. You know, the kind when there wasn’t enough sunlight. My parents were very superstitious and taught us a lot of unwritten rules…

--

--

Morris T
UNSCIENTIFIC

Melancholic by nature, hopeful by choice. Dreams of a day when people are kind to each other. Former Banker and Educator. http://bit.ly/SupportMorris 🙆 🙆‍♂️