The Oath of a Pharmacist

Erin Sandberg
2 min readOct 25, 2019

--

When pharmacists commit to these vows, you and your community benefit.

All week, we’ve been posting the vows that make up the Oath of a Pharmacist on Facebook and Instagram.

Why? Because October is American Pharmacists Month — a perfect opportunity to highlight all of the good work that pharmacists dedicate their lives to.

Adopted by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and approved by the American Pharmacists Association, here is the Oath in its entirety.

“I promise to devote myself to a lifetime of service to others through the profession of pharmacy. In fulfilling this vow:

  • I will consider the welfare of humanity and relief of suffering my primary concerns.
  • I will apply my knowledge, experience, and skills to the best of my ability to assure optimal outcomes for my patients.
  • I will respect and protect all personal and health information entrusted to me.
  • I will accept the lifelong obligation to improve my professional knowledge and competence.
  • I will hold myself and my colleagues to the highest principles of our profession’s moral, ethical and legal conduct.
  • I will embrace and advocate changes that improve patient care.
  • I will utilize my knowledge, skills, experiences, and values to prepare the next generation of pharmacists.

I take these vows voluntarily with the full realization of the responsibility with which I am entrusted by the public.”

Do these vows remind you of a pharmacist you know? Tag them on Facebook or Instagram to give them a bit of kudos for a job well done.

Blink Health is not insurance. The discount prescription drug provider is Blink Health Administration, LLC, 536 Broadway, 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10012, (844) 366–2211, www.blinkhealth.com

--

--

Erin Sandberg

Writer at Blink Health, seeking to help people understand and navigate the prescription drug landscape // Master of Science in Health Communication