Meet the Unsplash team:

‘Meet the Unsplash team’ is a series of interviews with members of the Unsplash team, giving an insight into the people behind the platform.

Annie Spratt
Unsplash Blog

--

Meet Pina 👋

❓Who are you and what’s your role at Unsplash?
I’m Pina, and I’m the office manager at Unsplash. I’m also mom to

(co-founder at Unsplash), (controller at Unsplash), mom-in-law to (co-founder at Unsplash), and wife to Nino (unofficial physiotherapist at Unsplash). I’m pretty lucky to have the opportunity to work with my family, and at the same time contribute — in my own way — to this incredible platform.

🏡 Where do you live?
I live in Montreal, minutes away from the Unsplash office.

Where do you work?
I prefer going to the office, and working alongside the team, and being productive together. Previously we worked out of the Crew Collective Cafe, but we’ve just recently relocated a few blocks down the street, still in the heart of Old Montreal. I have some off days if the weather is really awful, when I prefer to stay cozy and work from home.

What’s your working background?
Prior to Unsplash, I did mostly administrative work at a Montreal hospital. My position didn’t require much computer knowledge, as I dealt mostly with their particular software for patients’ charts, results etc. Needless to say, working for an online company was quite new to me. Although it felt a little intimidating at the beginning, with patience and perseverance, and making Google my go-to friend, I’ve become quite confident.

👫 When did you join the team?
I joined the team in October 2014. Although, I feel like I’ve always been part of the team from the very beginning. Crew (prior to Unsplash), started in the basement of our family home.

Steph and Mikael’s creative ideas would be the topic of many family dinner conversations. I would watch them stay up all night and devote most of their waking hours bouncing ideas off of each other.

📷 What are your responsibilities / What does a regular day at Unsplash look like for you?
I start off my mornings going through emails and scheduling most of our team’s calls and meetings, or anything else that needs my attention. A few times a week, I’ll coordinate with Annie and Andrew and browse the list of newly celebrated contributors who’ve reached milestones or have been recently featured on Unsplash. We like to celebrate these moments, by sending these contributors a special something, and I’m in charge of the packaging and shipping.

Tending to administrative issues and making sure the Unsplash office runs smoothly is a priority; whether it be arranging for our move, booking trips, planning our retreat, on-boarding new teammates, tending to the Unsplash store, placing orders, etc.

Of course, I even make sure

has enough Diet Coke and Beanitos to keep him fuelled throughout the day.

Why do you enjoy working on Unsplash?
There are many reasons why I enjoy working on Unsplash. It’s such a real and transparent company with genuine care and respect for our community. I have so much admiration for the Unsplash team and our community.

It’s messages like these that just make my day:

Then of course, I get to work with such talented and creative people who blend so well together in and out of work.

Another aspect is not having to do the whole 9 -5 thing! We’re extremely lucky that we get to manage our own time. If I’m feeling more productive in the late evening, I like to put in a few hours of work so I can tend to other things in the early morning if I need to.

Oh, and did I mention I get to work with 3 members of my family! It doesn’t get better than that.

☕️ Favourite working snack?
I enjoy a cold coffee in the summertime, so a decaf freshpresso and chia seed yogurt cup from the Crew Cafe hits the spot.

Photo by Demi De Herrera on Unsplash
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

🐶 What do you do when you aren’t working on Unsplash? Hobbies / past-times…
I’ve taken up swimming once a week with my husband. It’s been on my list of things to learn for quite a while. Crossfit training twice a week with the Unsplash team, and solo workouts another 2 days. I enjoy taking our family dog Nala for walks on the waterfront in Old Montreal. Cooking or baking when I don’t have to is also therapeutic, relaxing and pressure free, so it’s a hobby I enjoy.

🕵️‍ Where can people find you / chat to you?
@Unsplash
@Twitter
@Instagram

--

--

Annie Spratt
Unsplash Blog

🇬🇧 Part of the @Unsplash Community + Editorial Team. Gifting 10 photos daily to the internet’s open library of visuals on Unsplash. unsplash.com/anniespratt