Unsplash Untold. The stories behind the photos.

Edition 3

Annie Spratt
Unsplash Blog
5 min readOct 4, 2016

--

Each week we share short snippets, direct from the photographers themselves, that give a brief background to some of the photos that are available on Unsplash along with a little more about the people who took them.

Photo Credit: Jakob Owens

My brother and I had seen on Oahu, Hawaii that there was a trampoline suspended over the ocean but we didn’t know where. Luckily a local on the Island hit us up on Instagram, because he noticed we were exploring the island and offered to meet up with us to hang out and show us some cool spots. We asked him about the trampoline over the ocean and he took us right to it! It was so much fun and one of the best experiences of the trip. It was one of those experiences that catapulted you right back to that child like sense of fun and wonder of being a kid. This is a picture I snapped of my brother jumping off the trampoline into the water.

About the photographer: Jakob Owens is a filmmaker and photographer from Los Angeles California.

Photo by Will van Wingerden

Durdle Door, one of my favourite places to relax and unwind on a warm summers day. The combination of dramatic cliffs that have formed into an art form throughout history blending with the often underestimated calm waters make for the perfect place to take photos. If you ever find yourself in the South of England, Durdle Door isn’t one to be missed.

About the photographer: Will van Wingerden is a 19 year old from Dorset, England.

Photo Credit: Felix Russell-Saw

This is a photo of Marco Pierre White Jnr at his father’s hotel in Corsham - we met through a mutual friend and he suggested that we get together and take some photos. I’m still constantly evolving my style of photography but I love shooting raw and earthy outdoor locations and portraits in particular. I was recently gifted the 50mm Sigma f1.4, so shooting in areas where I can play with layers of depth and tone is something I’m really enjoying at the moment.

About the photographer: Felix Russell-Saw is a 25 living between London and Bristol, currently freelancing just trying to be fully self sufficient from his photography. Photography is a medium that he obsessively loves. He doesn’t think that he’ll ever get bored of travelling; seeing new places and meeting new people. He’s grateful that his career involves touring with bands across Europe for weeks on end andhelping small local businesses grow.

Photo Credit: Pedro Lastra

This picture was taken in Gunnison County, Colorado, near the abandoned mining town of Crystal. I had been there before, to photograph the mill, and always found the old wooden mill in the middle of the forest to be beautiful. Emblematic of man in the midst of nature. I always felt in awe of the grandeur of nature in the background and the old wooden mill surviving the elements and the river; battered, but surviving and graceful. This was in the fall, but a bit of snow was already falling. I called the image Fall into Snow.

About the photographer: Pedro Lastra is a 51 year old living in Miami.

Photo Credit: Mike Wilson

This image of Melbourne was taken from an apartment I’d rented for a week. I usually just fly into Melbourne to shoot for a few hours and then fly back out to South Australia. However this time I stayed for a week and this is the view from my balcony. I shot it at sunrise, dusk, sunset and night, each looking mesmerizingly different. This image makes me fall even more in love with Melbourne. It’s a vibrant, cosmopolitan city that is inspirational at ground level and from above.

About the photographer: Mike Wilson is a freelance director and passionately self taught photographer obsessed with photography.

Photo Credit: Filipe Dos Santos Mendes

I started skydiving 2 years ago. Using my GoPro, I started to get interesting angles of view in the sport. This is one of a great jump I did with friends. I like the DOF in it making the action dynamic and deep. I’m still trying to improve myself as a skydiver and as a sky-photographer and this picture represents a step in my way to progress.

About the photographer: Filipe Dos Santos Mendes is a 33 year old living in Liege, Belgium.

Photo Credit: Jez Timms

I happened to be passing through a small village called Capel, Kent due to a diversion. I saw the sign for a church and given the sunlight on that day, wanted to capture some stained glass windows. But the church in question was very old and an odd design, just one stained glass window and the sun wasn’t shining through. But I then saw this perfect scene with glorious light and had to shoot it.

About the photographer: Jez Timms runs Torpedo Juice, a full service design and marketing agency. He’s 43 years old and bought his first camera 3 years ago as a new hobby and hasn’t looked back since!

On Unfiltered we share everything. The behind the scenes, future features, stories from our community of amazing photographers and artists, and more — subscribe for a weekly roundup of the best of Unsplash.

--

--

Annie Spratt
Unsplash Blog

🇬🇧 Part of the @Unsplash Community + Editorial Team. Gifting 10 photos daily to the internet’s open library of visuals on Unsplash. unsplash.com/anniespratt