Unsplash Untold. The stories behind the photos.

Edition 7

Annie Spratt
Unsplash Blog
6 min readNov 3, 2016

--

Each week we share short snippets, direct from the photographers themselves, that give a brief background to some of the photos that are available on Unsplash along with a little more about the people who took them.

Photo Credit: Samuel Zeller

I took this shot of a wagon of the Gornergrat Bahn in Zermatt. This is the train that links the resort village of Zermatt (1604m) to the summit of the Gornergrat (3089m). It is one of the highest railways in Europe together with the Jungfrau. I went up there on December 23rd and there were only two people taking this train, which is usually filled with tourists. It was a surreal experience.

A snow tempest was starting on the summit and it made this superb effect on the image. This picture has been used by my friend and musician Leo Nocta for his first album Atoms. I took it with my very first camera, a Fujifilm X100. This image will always have a special meaning to me.

About the photographer: Samuel Zeller is a 25 year old freelance photographer living in Geneva, Switzerland.

Photo Credit: Alejandro Alvarez

I took this photo in Prague. This city has an amazingly rich cultural life, it feels as if there is magic in the air. Almost everywhere where you point your camera is something beautiful going on. This guy was performing a fire show in the middle of Prague’s Old Town Square — I just wanted to capture this moment as well as I could. I must have taken like 30 pics of him! Sometimes you have to shoot a lot to get just one good picture.

About the photographer: Alejandro Alvarez is a 29 year old, currently living in Munich, Germany.

Photo Credit: Jan Erik Waider

This is one of my favorite and places in Iceland, called “Skarðsvík Beach” on the Snæfellsnes peninsula near the small town Hellissandur. It’s a little bit off the main road, but easily accessible — you kind of have know it’s there. What makes the beach so special is the golden sand and the turquoise water, surrounded by black cliffs. The colors are simply amazing and different to most of the beaches in Iceland, since most sand is black from the lava. I have been to this beach many times over the year and it’s also magical in Winter, when there is snow on the golden sand. Skarðsvík beach is quite popular among Icelanders and in the summer you can see people swimming and sunbathing or jumping off the impressive cliffs.

About the photographer: Jan Erik Waider is a passionate Photographer and User Interface Designer from Germany — traveling around the Nordic countries as Digital Nomad.

Photo Credit: William Wachter

I was in NY with my brother for a week of street photography and exploration. Shooting the Empire State building was at the top of my list. I wanted to bring out the fact that he dominates the city despite other high buildings -a central and majestic skyscraper.

About the photographer: William Wachter is a 25 year old designer based in Montreal.

Photo Credit: Nathan Anderson

This was shot right outside my uncles place in Silverthorne, CO which is why it’s amazing to stay here. I have taken many photos from this place before but to make it quick and easy my dad actually helped me take this one — making sure stuff was aligned and hitting the shutter for me so I don’t have to constantly run back and forth.

You could argue I didn’t even do this right! I didn’t have a light to shine on myself so that ended up being all post-production.

About the photographer: Nathan Anderson is a 21 year old designer that lives in Knoxville, TN. His grandfather introduced him to photography and to this day it’s what motivated him to go take more photos.

Photo Credit: Dan Carlson

The photo was taken on a road leading into the Cooper’s Rock state park near Morgantown, West Virginia with a Sony A6300 18–105, F4 Lens. I just moved to Morgantown from Minnesota last week so I wanted to take the weekend to explore the area. I took the photo mainly because I couldn’t believe how smooth the road was. The roads around the area I used to live in were just terrible so I pulled over to the side of the road and tried to time it so no cars got in the frame. It’s a pretty busy road so that was more challenging than you would think.

I think it’s cool how a photo of something as simple as a road can interest people. I’ve been guilty of thinking that there is nothing around me to photograph many times, so I’m trying to improve as a photographer and try to see ordinary things as extraordinary.

About the photographer: Dan Carlson is 22 and lives in Morgantown, WV.

Photo Credit: Redd Angelo

We were on our way to tsukiji fish market in tokyo, it was 1:30am in the morning in Tokyo. We were looking for some cool photo spots and my friend Dante found an elevator to a building going up to the 8th floor. I found an emergency exit door but it was in japanese but the fonts were in red so i figured it said something along those lines, so long story short we went up the roof and climbed the billboard sign and i took that photo from around 13–14 stories high. The photo makes me feel relaxed, in a city that never sleeps people tend to forget what relaxation feels like and this photo gives me that. This was shot in Ginza, Tokyo, Japan.

About the photographer: Redd Angelo is 20 and lives in Edmonton, Alberta.

On Unfiltered we share everything. The behind the scenes, future features, stories from our community of amazing photographers and artists, and more — subscribe for a weekly roundup of the best of Unsplash.

--

--

Annie Spratt
Unsplash Blog

🇬🇧 Part of the @Unsplash Community + Editorial Team. Gifting 10 photos daily to the internet’s open library of visuals on Unsplash. unsplash.com/anniespratt