Monday 20 March: Tinder reflections

Brody Woolf
Unstable Creature
Published in
2 min readMar 19, 2017

Yesterday was Sunday and I did stuff that people who are nesting (but single) do! I love nesting! It beats buying every meal and going out just because your house is such a mess and you can’t stand being there. Organic markets for all veggies, fresh soda bread, 15 giant eggs that are so deliciously the same colour as the walls in my house which is actually called ‘egg shell’.

Wauw veggies…what an exciting diary entry. Okay, so more importantly…

I didn’t speak to the ex this weekend which is proud moment upon proud moment. My tinder chats from Friday night spilled into Saturday oh my. Well, with one-ish, two, perhaps five or six male specimans. Tinder is fucking unbelievable… all guys do is ask you to meet them for sex. I mean… am I too over the hill or is there anyone out there who likes to meet these people first and then decide if they’re worth your one and only body and precious vagina? I couldn’t believe these young dudes (this one guy was 25 and typed to me, ‘Let’s hook up and fuck’, and I thought, you little shit, what do you know about what women want at that age? I type something like, ‘you haven’t near impressed me enough’ which I admit was baiting him a bit haha, and he types, ‘I’ve fucked heaps of chicks in their 30s’. Clearly, I thought. Way to pitch yourself.

Anyway, this other 30 year old kid writes to me, ‘I’m chilling in bed. Come join’. After deliberating on the fact that I’m possibly the only female in the city who doesn’t actually jump up and run to these douche bags, I write, ‘perhaps a drink first is in order’. And guess what? He sent me flowers hahahahahaha. I’m kidding. That never happened. No response. Did I even want one?

Wauw, I thought it might be nice to have a drink with someone I met before I choose to go further or tell them to bugger off. Maybe I’m challenging the tinder brand promise. This is the male species after all (log that one, newly single 35 year old). Should I? Haha. No. I mean. Umm… No! Brody, no! Your body is a temple, your body is a temple…

--

--

Brody Woolf
Unstable Creature

My (newly single) 35 year old self, trying new things like Tinder and not giving a fuck.