Shero Award- Shervis Andrews

Tamyara Brown
UnSung SHEROES
Published in
5 min readMay 6, 2016

--

A mother’s fight against illegal Sentencing and Justice For her son Rodney Lee!

Rodney Lee (younger) and Shervis Andrews

Imagine your son arrested for stealing a shoe and given six years in prison in Buffalo, NY.? Charged with armed robbery after the victim was brought to the house and he admitted Rodney didn’t take his sneakers. It would be easy for Shervis to accept the unfair judgement handed to her son, but she decided to take a stand and fight for her son’s life. The battle has left some scars, she misses her son, and all she want is for him to be free.

Let me paint a verbal picture of Rodney. His future was bright, a college honor student pursuing a career as a registered nurse, going in the Air Force, and just an amazing young man with a dream. It was snatched away by being at the wrong place, but that doesn’t make him a criminal. Who gets six years for stealing a single sneaker? The injustice is clear no one should be charged with armed robbery for one sneaker. The kicker is the victim openly admitted he was not the one who robbed him of the shoes. His mother is the fighter of his life because she believes in her son, and she will not rest until he is free.

“My mission is not just for my son , Rodney. It is for every black man and woman that’s been falsely accused.”-Shervis Andrews

It isn’t uncommon to hear about another young man or woman being falsely accused of a crime they didn’t commit or being illegally sentence. Shervis went to the Buffalo City Council, did a rally, and she refuses to stop fighting. Her tenacity to save her son and others is why she is the Shero of the month.

Could you please tell everyone about yourself and your son Rodney Lee?

I’m a single mom who has two sons. Rodney is my youngest son. A hard-working Mom. I was also the team Mom for the Buffalo Raiders football team. Rodney is a kind soul who has a good heart. He would give the shirt off his back, and help anyone he can. I work hard a school bus driver , a member of the B.U.I.L.D ,mother of the community the children love her. She prepares small cook outs and the children come to her home where

I am a mother, a black mother and I’m going to stand up and fight.

Your mission is not only about your son, but other young men who was unjustly incarcerated. What is your message for a mother going through the same thing?

My mission is not just for my son, Rodney it is for every young black man and woman that has been falsely accused. I went to visit my son and as I looked at all the black men in prison. It just broke my heart. They seem to want to take the ones in school, trying to be a productive citizen and throw them behind bars. It is as if it is their mission to break them down. Yes, there are people who do bad things, but as for my son and so many falsely accused and illegally sentence. The system is broken and I just can’t see another person or mother seeing their son locked for a crime he didn’t commit.We’re going to continue to fight because to be putting our children in jail to get another notch on your belt so that you can reach another level in your life but you taking other people lives you taking people children lives and it just won’t do at least not in my eyes and in my heart.

Rodney Lee playing for the Raiders

You have a benefit, please share information and ways to support Rodney’s legal fund?

I will be giving benefits from time to time to try to raise money for my son’s appeal. I am going to try to continue to give different fundraisers so that we can help some of those young people that are in prison with some things that they need because some of those young boys don’t have anybody to do anything for them. They need to know that they are not alone. We need your help please donate whatever you can a dollar or two dollars, whatever it is that you may be able to do. The raffle will be at B.U.I.L.D building 118. E. Utica Street this Saturday, May, 7th,2016 at 10 a.m. The prize is 43 inch flat screen television.

What are the challenges of fighting to free Rodney?

It has been a great challenge because the barrier is most people believe that they are guilty. It isn’t always the case. It is not hard enough of a challenge that I will quit. I’m just trying to find ways of raising the money to pay for bills just trying to get the story and having someone listen.

Please take a moment to like her fan page and get the story to go viral. Your support is needed. If you have a moment please and in Buffalo please stop at 118 E. Utica Street and purchase raffle tickets.

--

--

Tamyara Brown
UnSung SHEROES

Tamyara is an author of eight novels, blogger, graphic and website designer. She is also the host of B.L.A.H Diaries.