olugbenga osunkoya
Unusual & Random Musings
2 min readNov 3, 2017

--

I WAS ALWAYS FIRST

Does this post’s title sound familiar? Sure it does, that is that statement that comes out of every parents’ mouth at the end of the school term when you had the fortunate/unfortunate honour of presenting them your report card. God help you if your result was bad or even average, you will hear the story of your life that will make you promise yourself to top the class by the following term.

Every parent had one good thing or the other to say about their academics and time in school. Of course we took everything they told us hook, line and sinker as there was no way we could confirm all their “beautiful” stories if they were true or otherwise but of course they just had to be true. My high school experience was kind of competitive especially the academic part as everyone was out to outdo the next guy and this made it somehow difficult for the average students. One particular episode readily comes to mind that sort of gingered me to fight and take my academics more seriously. I had come back after a school term where I had come sixth in a class of 45 and obviously I was elated and very eager to perform the ritual of presenting my report card and surprisingly I got a pat on the back from my father who I had thought was going to repeat his stories of always coming first in class while he was in school. And at that point, He schooled me how they were always forced to study by fire by force with less distractions than what we had in our time. He schooled me how every parent made that statement in order to encourage their kids to study hard and do well so they could justify the huge investments they made on their education. After that episode with my father, it was enough encouragement for me to continue to strive for success in my academics

I then wonder if every parent came first in class in their time, who then always came second, third, fourth etc. or is it safe to assume they were the only ones in their class then. That assumption seems to be the only logical explanation for the regular statement. Our parents never stopped amazing us with their academic exploits that in no small way gave us enough encouragement.

A massive thank you to them for their investments in our education.

THANK YOU DADDY, THANK YOU MUMMY. I LOVE YOU BOTH.

--

--

olugbenga osunkoya
Unusual & Random Musings

I am so passionate about Nigeria. A humanist and journey to perfection disciple.