Ideas From a Pre-dawn Marathon

Mark Carey
Unwalled Garden
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2017

Most weekends, I go for a long run, often marathon distance, starting very early in morning. Today, being one day before daylight savings time, the entire 3h45m run was finished before the 7:58am sunrise. Darkness or not, I often think of ideas for current or new projects / products. Here are a few from this morning. It wouldn’t surprise me if some/all of these already exist … I haven’t researched them as yet. I may later write posts on each, and will update the list below with links.

  • Blockchain Source Websites. Websites whose source code is validated against a distributed version stored on the blockchain.
  • Blockchain as a Git Remote. Related to the above, source code could be pushed directly from Git to the blockchain to distribute the code. (Update: Ok, I did research this and it does exist!)
  • A Crypto Token for Charitable Donations. Make it super easy to make micro-donations and recurring donations governed by smart contracts.
  • Intention-based B2B Leads Network. Prospective leads opt in to the network, conditionally sharing their intentions (types of services they may be interested in, etc.). The goal: richer, more relevant, warm leads without send unsolicited emails.
  • Cryptocurrency and Token Hedging. Pretty sure this must exist already, or is being worked on. Similar to the hedging of currencies or securities, the idea is to limit the risk of holding a crypto asset by hedging the risk of volatility (for a price, of course).

As you can see, I guess I had crypto / blockchain on the brain as I barreled through the darkness.

--

--