A week in the UP School Data Analyst program 👩🏻‍💻📊✨

Elif Sıla Okutucu
UP School
Published in
4 min readMay 25, 2022

First of all, hello everyone! My name Elif Sıla Okutucu. Today, I would like to tell you about the Up School and the Data analyst program, which played a major role in making one of the most difficult periods of my life to the most productive, stimulating, and transformative one, and how a week passes in this program as a Data Analyst trainee. Before I talk about a week in Data analysis, I would like to briefly tell you how I met Up school. During my college life, I was always searching for how should I proceed, and in which field I want to work, and succeed. I took many courses from many different fields, participated in projects and researches. But when I graduated, I realized that the direction I wanted to move forward was through the business and data fields. Later, I met Up School with the suggestion of a friend who thinks like me and has just completed a very good process.

The Data Analysis program that I joined was realized with the cooperation of Up School and Hepsiburada, and a total of 31 women graduated from this program in 3 different periods. We all learned how to work with data and obtain results to give effective business insights through 4 months of intensive Python and SQL educations as the Hard Skills. We also have the Soft Skills sessions that helped us develop ourselves and each other socially and personally. We had the chance to get to know and support each other closely with the “Seyir” talks. So, let’s get started!

I would like to keep the narration realistic by telling you about the first week of the 2nd month of our training. First of all, I will show you how lessons, assignments, office hours and “Seyir” sessions are organized in the 5th week of the training.

WEEK 5

Monday, February 7

  • Lesson 12 is open to watch
  • Submission of Lesson 11 tasks & evaluation until 23:59

Tuesday, February 8

  • Week 5 — Live Coding Session 4 at 20:00

Wednesday, February 9

  • Office Hour 1 at 20:00
  • Submission of Lesson 12 tasks & evaluation until 23:59
  • Week 5 — Live Coding Session evaluation until 23:59

Thursday, February 10

  • Lesson 13 is open to watch
  • Week 5 — Live Coding Session tasks until 23:59
  • Office Hour 1 evaluation until 23:59
  • Seyir (Soft skills session) at 20:00

Friday, February 11

  • Office Hour 2 at 20:00

Saturday, February 12

  • Lesson 14 is open to watch
  • Submission of Lesson 13 tasks & evaluation until 23:59
  • Office Hour 2 evaluation until 23:59

Sunday, February 13

  • Holiday

First of all I want to indicate that our monthly schedule, lesson videos, assignments, and survey links were on the Up school’s Moodle site, which is the site we used to make our submissions as well.

Moodle Calendar

The 5th week started with the submission of Lesson 11 tasks and the next lecture’s videos. To be honest, I could only watch the lessons from Monday on Tuesdays because my Mondays were all about finishing and submitting the tasks from Saturday. 😁 Tuesday was all about watching Lesson 12 lecture videos and attending the Live Coding 4. Our instructor gives us an additional 1–2 days for the tasks that we could not complete during the live coding hour every week. On Wednesday, we finished evaluations and most of the tasks so if we had any problems on the assignment, we would be able to ask them during Office Hour. Despite the assignments, Thursdays were my favorite days because we had “Seyir” sessions that were extremely helpful for my achievements and mental status. Thanks to these sessions, I got to know some of the girls who participated in this training with me better and I was able to strengthen my relationships with them. On Friday, we had an another office hour with our TA assistants to ask our questions about Lesson 13. Lastly on Saturday, we needed to finish the assignments of Lesson 13 and the evaluations. Although the surveys may seem like a lot, getting positive developments for many things we mentioned has proven to us that how useful they were. In this way, we have left behind an intense data analyst week.

Although I only told you about one week of this journey, this journey has taught me a lot, both academically and individually, and taught me self-appreciation, resilience, gratitude, feedforward, positive challenge and many more that I can’t count. I am so happy to be a part of this inspiring community we have created together. I am grateful to the Up School team and Hepsiburada, who gave us this opportunity, and our “Seyir” mentor Beyza Kurtoğlu for supporting us and my teammates with whom I shared this journey.

I hope that I have presented a detailed and understandable explanation of how our week went as a Up School Data Analyst trainee to those who will start the Up school journey like me in the future.

--

--

Elif Sıla Okutucu
UP School
Writer for

Electronics & Communication Eng. / Data Analyst / Business Analyst