Some tips for GIFT formatting

Jason Hogan
UPEI TLC
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2018

If you’ve been using Moodle for a while, you might be using GIFT formatting to upload your question bank to Moodle. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check out my blog on the topic: How do I write questions in GIFT format?

If you’re writing questions in Moodle, you might remember that your answers are shuffled by default. However, you might write questions where the order of answers matters, such as answers like “All of the above” or “None of the above”.

My secret for writing all of the above is to start the question off with ABOVE.

ABOVE When you’re writing a multiple choice question for Moodle in GIFT format, the = symbol identifies that the following answer is:

{~a partially correct answer

=the correct answer

~an incorrect answer

~all of the above}

When I import these questions into Moodle, all of the questions that have that ABOVE tag will be grouped together. It also serves as a reminder for me to edit the question to remove the shuffle option.

So here are some questions I’ve uploaded

Those questions with ABOVE get grouped together

For each of the above question I press the gear icon to edit the question. I remove ABOVE from the title and body of the question, but I also scroll down and uncheck the box to shuffle choices.

It is an extra step, but it can be a method to make those questions appear as you want. I do a similar tag for questions with pictures.

If you’re interested in using GIFT format and want some help getting your questions (shuffled or not) uploaded to Moodle, reach out and let us know!

--

--