Mayass and Ahmad: studying at home

Up for School Lebanon
#UpForSchool Lebanon
3 min readOct 28, 2015
Photographs: Tabitha Ross / A World at School

Ahmad:

I’m from near Damascus. But I used to spend a lot of time near the Umayyid Mosque in the old city. We went there on Fridays to pray. It’s so beautiful, it’s like a museum.

l have been here a year. I went to the sea here a couple of times to swim, that was nice.

I like Lebanon but everyone loves his own country the most. I miss everything. I miss going to the mosque on Fridays, I miss going to play and swim, in the river.

I went to school there and here I don’t go any more. I can’t go because I have to work because my family doesn’t have enough money, and they can’t afford to send me to school anyway, schools here are expensive.

I was working in a petrol station, washing cars and filling them up with petrol. Now I’m working in a $1 store. I prefer the store because the petrol station was hard work and very hot, and at the store I get to talk to the customers and I get to sit down. But the wages are lower.

I want to be an engineer when I grow up because I want to help rebuild Syria when the war is over.

Ahmad, 14, from the Damascus countryside. He and his younger sister Mayass have been in Lebanon one year.

Mayass:

It’s four years since I went to school. I reached the second grade in Syria, but I had to drop out because soldiers used to come to our classes and the school wasn’t safe, and my parents got scared. I should be in the sixth grade now.

I was very sad when I left school, and I’m still sad because I’m only just learning a bit of reading and writing now. Three months ago I didn’t know how to read or write at all, but now my brother Ahmad is teaching me what he knows. And when I can do it well I will teach my little brother and sister.

We play a game where you choose a letter and then you have to write down an animal, a person and a place beginning with it. It’s fun and it’s good for practicing letters and writing.

It’s important to go to school so you can study and learn. And if I could go to school I could get a good job and then I could help my family.

When I grow up I want to be a teacher so that children can learn.

Mayass, 12, from the Damascus countryside. She and her older brother Ahmad have been in Lebanon one year.

--

--

Up for School Lebanon
#UpForSchool Lebanon

The #UpForSchool petition has brought together a movement of over 10 million people behind the the demand that every child should be able to realise their right to go to school safely. 59 million children around the world are still left without that right, and without an education. Together we can create a message no government, politician or world leader can ignore. Join the millions who standing #UpForSchool, Sign the petition, and be part of the movement building A World at School. Upforschool.org