Mayass: “My dream came true”

Up for School Lebanon
#UpForSchool Lebanon
2 min readDec 3, 2015
Photos: Tabitha Ross/ A World at School

On the first day back I felt that my life had become beautiful. I was so happy that I would learn and study and fulfil my dream.

But I was scared at the same time, because I didn’t know any of the students or the teachers and I didn’t know what school would be like. But then I started to make friends and now I feel like they’re my brothers and sisters. I’ve been back at school two months and I have 20 friends now! And they love me and I love them too. At playtime we play everywhere. We play catch, and hide and seek.

In my class there are just three Lebanese students and all the rest are Syrian. And then in the afternoon shift everyone is Syrian.

The hardest thing is French. The language is so difficult but because I’m studying hard in school I’m learning step by step. And even though it’s hard I do like it. My favourite subjects are French and Arabic and Maths.

Because of all the time I spent out of school, my brother Ahmad and my mum help me to catch up.

I really enjoyed meeting Mrs. Sarah. Her husband came to Lebanon earlier this year and I met him, and told me I should go to school. So when she visited me in school I felt so happy, and I sent a video with her for Mr. Gordon to tell him that I am going to school now, that my dream came true.

Mayass, 12, from the Damascus countryside. She missed four years of school after her parents deemed it unsafe for her to go when soldiers started hanging around her school in Syria. She went back to school in September 2015, when numbers of places in Lebanese schools for Syrians greatly increased because of the double shift system.

--

--

Up for School Lebanon
#UpForSchool Lebanon

The #UpForSchool petition has brought together a movement of over 10 million people behind the the demand that every child should be able to realise their right to go to school safely. 59 million children around the world are still left without that right, and without an education. Together we can create a message no government, politician or world leader can ignore. Join the millions who standing #UpForSchool, Sign the petition, and be part of the movement building A World at School. Upforschool.org