Nour: “It’s great being back in school, but it’s hard too”

Up for School Lebanon
#UpForSchool Lebanon
2 min readDec 3, 2015
Photo: Tabitha Ross/ A World at School

We heard that Lebanese public schools were registering Syrian students now, so we came here and registered. I had an exam to see if I could enter or not, and I passed it. I was so happy.

But when it came to the start of term I didn’t go. The second day, I didn’t go. The third day, I didn’t go. I felt scared. I’d been out of school for so long, I’d forgotten so much, and I didn’t know how to go back.

Then I thought about never learning again and I felt I had to find the courage to come and join the other children in school. So I forced myself to come. And after the first class, two girls came and introduced themselves to me and we became friends. After that it became easier.

In the second week I became friends with a Lebanese girl and she knew everyone. Through her I made lots of new friends.

I’m very short-sighted so I can’t see what’s written on the board. Once one of my friends realised this, she told the teacher — I didn’t want her to, I was hiding behind the desk because I didn’t want her to, but it was ok. The teacher put me at the front of the class and said if I still can’t read the board to copy my friend’s book.

I’d never studied English properly before, so I find it difficult. But I’m good in Sciences and Arabic.

I was out of school for three years. It’s hard trying to catch up. I’d memorised a lot, but when I came to class I found I had forgotten so much. It’s great being back in school, but it’s hard too.

Nour, 15, is from Joba near Damascus. She missed three years of school after fleeing violence in Syria and coming to Lebanon, and has just returned to school in September 2015.

--

--

Up for School Lebanon
#UpForSchool Lebanon

The #UpForSchool petition has brought together a movement of over 10 million people behind the the demand that every child should be able to realise their right to go to school safely. 59 million children around the world are still left without that right, and without an education. Together we can create a message no government, politician or world leader can ignore. Join the millions who standing #UpForSchool, Sign the petition, and be part of the movement building A World at School. Upforschool.org