Day #1: 30 days towards 10K per month (Launching a Marketing Agency)

--

I was a failure this year.

Every goal that I set for myself, every project that I wrestled with, every path that I took … collapsed.

So last month I fell into a procrastination spiral. Frustration.

My summer plan was to get my infant agency running at full tilt. But two weeks ago I ended up watching the whole Vikings show… in 4 days.

I set goals almost daily. But my actions fell short. SMART goals, small goals, big goals… been there, done that. More frustration.

I couldn’t gather any willpower or motivation.

Resorted to philosophy.

Been contemplating the shortness of our life, death, how lucky I am to be bestowed upon with the opportunities I have.

All to no avail.

But it was this period that made me realize something strange:

Success and happiness echo how much we are willing to do despite frightening resistance.

Not how many books we read or how many success advice we’ve heard.

But taking action in spite of monsters. Either outside or inside monsters. Either fear or laziness. Either real challenges or mental blocks.

The problem was that I was overthinking.

I was afraid to send that cold email. I was afraid to publish that article. I was too comfortable to put myself through challenging situations.

So I stopped listening to my brain. Not Facebook, but my brain was in fact the greatest source of ‘Fake News’.

To push myself, I started this challenge.

This means I would stop:

  • Watching T.V. and Netflix
  • Paying attention to news or social media
  • Interacting with any of my loser friends
  • Caring about my feelings (Emotions are overrated)
  • Being a consumer

So this is the month I would be a producer.

This public commitment to my mission is my first proof.

I will make a profitable Social Media Marketing Agency with my partner, Michael. This innovative company will provide valuable services, mainly focusing on Facebook Ads. To prove our worth, we will even work for free for a week and deliver great services!

Here follows a full month of cold emails, prospecting, following-up, putting in the work. All the fairy tales about sales and marketing.

Take away:

If you are stuck in a mental puzzle, stop thinking. Immediately. Do not consume anything either.

But rather act on that problem that was upsetting you or frightening you. Or project. A tiny little action. A message. A line of code. A word..

As Mark Manson puts it brilliantly:

If you’re stuck on a problem, don’t sit there and think about it; just start working on it. Even if you don’t know what you’re doing, the simple act of working on it will eventually cause the right ideas to show up!

Day 1 stats:

Income: $0

Hours worked: 6

Cold emails sent: 25

Follow Up Emails: 63

Article written: X

Active Leads: 2

Mostly prospected leads on Instagram

--

--

Andrew Hrs
Building a Digital Marketing Agency (Challenge: 30 days)

Facebook Ads Strategist and Internet Marketing savvy — I’m building my own Marketing Agency in 30 days