Five Speed Intro: Lil Xan

Peter Tascio
uphill/downhill
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2019

Five Speed Intro is where I write about artists I’ve heard of but who’s music I’ve never heard. I may not know anything about them outside of their name so it’s an opportunity to gain an introduction to their music with limited preconceptions. Whatever tidbits of information and gossip I have heard about them I lay out upfront. These articles are based on listening to the top 5 songs they have on Spotify.
Do you have an artist I may have heard of but who’s music I’ve never heard? Let me know in the comments.

What I Know About Lil Xan

Considering the theme of this column, I know surprisingly a lot about Lil Xan. I know that he’s a rapper. He received a cake baked to look like a xanax for his birthday or to celebrate his millionth fan or something like that. I heard that shortly after he blew up he said he is quitting xanax. And he and Tim Dillon are totally dating.

Lil Xan blurry
Who’s Lil Xan?

Top 5 Lil Xan Songs on Spotify As of this Writing

Top 5 Lil Xan songs on Spotify

Betrayed

I was fully prepared to not like this at all, based on the fact that I already know some stuff about Lil Xan. But I do like this beat…it’s a Bobby Johnson beat apparently…the synth keyboard lead is cool, and it morphs into a nice pad. His delivery is okay. At 2:30 there is some nice reverse-beat effect going on. I’m pretty much a fan of any music that goes in reverse. Not saying I’m a Lil Xan fan though. Don’t go that far.

Color Blind

This has got a cool dance beat thing. But more like if you gave a dance beat oh, I don’t know, maybe a xanax, and it slowed down and got really fuzzy and hazy. I don’t know what these lyrics are about. Truth be told, I don’t listen to lyrics much. I sure didn’t come here for lyrics.

Lies (feat. Lil Skies)

I am listening to a…Bobby Johnson?…beat…again? Betrayed is also a Bobby Johnson beat. This one kind of has a…you know those mobile things you hand above a child’s crib and they play songs? This track kind of sounds like that. Lil Xan has that drugged out/laid back delivery, but Lil Skies is significantly more lively. It doesn’t take much to sound lively in this context.

Tim dillon is dating Lil Xan.
True love.

Live or Die

Hmmm…I may know one more thing about Lil Xan. Is he one of those emo rappers? This song has Noah Cyrus singing on it, but she is not credited in the song title like Lil Skies was. What’s up with that? I don’t know anything about Noah Cyrus. Like, is she related to Miley Cyrus? She must be. Maybe she’ll be the next column? I don’t really like this song. I’m weary about someone trying to pull on my heart strings so hard, it just gets sappy. One thing though — the chorus turns strange and dissonant at the end when Noah Cyrus goes up high. I like that part and I can’t tell if it’s on purpose.

Slingshot

Cool kick drum. It’s like sludge on xanax. Oh no! Another Bobby Johnson beat! I bet I’m spelling Bobby Johnson wrong. Oh well. I don’t know anything about him except that he’s made 3/5 beats for Lil Xan. Whoa! This song is only 1:29! It ended before I could even finish writing! That somehow makes it cooler…like, I wasn’t that into the song, but then it was over and I wanted it back. I think I just don’t like people taking things from me, though.

Overall Impression of Lil Xan

I do like the overall s l o w n e s s of these songs. Not sure if I’ll return but I’ll keep it in my back pocket.

Lil Xan in the stairs.
Lil Xan going for the s l o w n e s s.

Do you have an artist I may have heard of but who’s music I’ve never heard? Let me know in the comments.

--

--